blood guilt – ben cheetham

Blood Guilt

DI Harlan Miller’s life is all getting too much, his young son has died in a freak accident and his marriage is on the rocks – causing him to hit the booze.  Rather than helping him forget his problems, it lands him in an even worse situation that results in him in prison on a manslaughter charge.

When he gets out, he’s lost everything apart from the friendship of his former partner on the job and is falling into despair…and then the youngest son of the man he killed is abducted, and suddenly he has something to live for.  He HAS to find the missing boy.  It’s the only way that he can bear to live with what he has done.  But can he do it?  And if he does, will it make any difference to how he feels?

When I first read the blurb, I thought that the story may feel a little too ‘staged’, with a rather predictable ending.  However, this book drew me in right from the beginning.  The main character is very well thought through – he felt so believable that I totally bought into his plight.  And although there were many twists and turns and unexpected avenues explored, it still managed to feel ‘real’.

It wasn’t the most beautifully-written, literary book I have read, it wasn’t as uncomfortable and detailed as the amazing Sugar & Spice, and there were a couple of strands that tied up just a little too neatly, but this was a great page-turner with a unique premise and I zoomed through it in a couple of days as I really wanted to know what happened!

And it’s only 86p on Kindle – so what have you got to lose?!

6 thoughts on “blood guilt – ben cheetham

Add yours

  1. I want to know were I can purchase a paperback copy of Ben Cheetham’s ‘Blood Guilt’. Amazon only do it on Kindle. I have tried everywhere without success, anyone who could help would be appreciated.
    thank you Michael

I love comments and will generally answer any that are left - so please do leave one!

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑