Home > Arts, Films, London, Music, Review, Theatre > things i’ve seen this year and not got round to blogging about (January)

things i’ve seen this year and not got round to blogging about (January)

2014 has been exceptionally busy. I haven’t had a chance to blog about all the wonderful things that I’ve been able to experience – and to be honest, I worry that if I don’t blog about them, they’ll be erased from my memory just through so many other things piling in!

So, I have been making the most of living in this wonderful, cultured city – I’ve seen so many widely diverse shows, it makes me feel alive! God bless London!

Death Ship 666

The first show I saw this year, so I did actually manage to get around to blogging about it, before I got bogged down in being such a culture vulture!! See my full blog post here.

The Lost World, Barts Pathology Museum

The Lost World at Barts Pathology Museum

The Lost World at Barts Pathology Museum

Two treats in one – a visit to the amazing Barts Pathology Museum where you can peruse the fascinating and gory exhibits of medical interest in the many cases and jars (from leprous hands to a flashlight that was extracted from an ancient flashlight that was extracted from a soldier that had obviously ‘fallen’ onto it backwards) and a silent film that I hadn’t seen before.

As part of their Silent Film season, the £7.50 entrance fee included popcorn and a Hendricks giin and tonic. The Lost World (1925), based on the book by Conan Doyle (and featuring him at the start), it was the inspiration for Jurassic Park and King Kong. And it was brilliant. The stop motion animated dinosaurs felt way ahead of their time, and the acting was wonderfully non-purposely comedic. I loved it. One of the best moments was after they had carefully and painstakingly gone through the process of capturing one of the huge creatures, the caption “Later in London…” is shown, removing the need for a return journey 🙂 Brilliant!

The Pink Singers, Cadogan Hall

The Time Of My Life

The Time Of My Life

The Pink Singers are London’s LGBT choir, and in January they put on a great show at Cadogan Hall of a selection of songs from some well-known and well-loved films.  There was a great energy amongst the singers, and some fantastic high-points. I may not enjoy “I Will Always Love You” but there was no denying the sheer talent of the MALE soloist who belted out a perfect rendition. the haunting “Mad World” was my highlight though. Beautiful 🙂

Frank Skinner, Leicester Square Theatre

Frank Skinner

Frank Skinner

I was lucky to be given a friend’s ticket for Frank Skinner’s ‘Man in A Suit’ – a prelude to his tour that starts next month. After a seven year break from stand-up, he’s changed a bit. Now a father, teetotal and in his mid-50s, he’s not quite the lad that he used to be in his Fantasy Football days. He was warm and witty and relaxed, rather than outlandish and shocking with loud belly laughs. It’s not often that you get knob jokes and haikus in the same show.

  1. Richard
    March 9, 2014 at 11:49 am

    Pretty diverse selection! You do have to look back once in a while to appreciate just what an amazing city we live in.

  2. March 11, 2014 at 12:20 am

    Diverse was just the word I was going to use – your outings are a reflection of the richness of London life. And I never though I’d be saying must go the pathology museum, but after this write up I really have no choice. Is the film still showing?

    • March 11, 2014 at 7:12 am

      No. Unfortunately the films are one offs. I went to another one last week. The season has finished now as the lighter evenings and the glass roof mean it’s impossible to show films. But they have other stuff going on there.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

I love comments and will generally answer any that are left - so please do leave one!

