Home > London, News, Whatever next?! > something to take the chill off?

something to take the chill off?

Much more effective than an electric blanket!

Apparently Holiday Inn hotels in London and Manchester are going to be trialling a new initiative.

To take the bite off of the winter-like chill currently in the air they are making a bold move.  Will they be offering electric blankets to guests?  Oh no, probably far too likely to get stolen (these ARE Holiday Inn clientele after all!).  Will they be sticking the heating up to full blast for those that require it?  Oh no, far too costly.

No, the solution that they have come up with for cold-bed syndrome (as it’s technically known..ahem) is apparently human bed-warmers.  Oh it’s OK – they’ll be wearing full all-in-one bodysuits (see photo), which wouldn’t be at ALL creepy!

In all honestly, it’s actually a really cool idea, but bloody weird – I’m pretty sure it’s just a publicity stunt as I can’t imagine anyone actually ordering one.

Would you get a choice of gender?  In fact could you choose from a brochure?  Do you have to book them in hours in advance, which means you need to know what time you’ll be getting into bed, or do you just call down to reception and say “I’m ready!!”  How do they leave you?  Do they give you a kiss on the nose and say “Sweet dreams”?  Do they tuck you in?  Bring you an Ovaltine?  Do you talk to them while they’re lying in your bed?  Is it an opportunity for ladies-of-the-night to earn a few ‘extras’ – or will the suits have some kind of tamper-proof device so that management know you haven’t taken it off?  Perhaps red ink over your crotch from a device like those in clothing shops.

Who would choose this as a career path?

I’m sorry – this has done my head in since I read it – instead of just thinking “Oh, what a cute idea!” it’s given me just FAR too many questions that haven’t been answered.

That said though, I’d probably give it a go – it’s free after all!  😉

  1. January 19, 2010 at 4:47 pm

    My understanding was that you booked them to warm up the bed while you were not occupying the room… However to be honest I’d find it quite unsettling to get into bed knowing that someone else has just got out of it, especially when I’m paying a hefty price for the use of the bed in the first place!

    That said, people still ask for their bed to be ‘turned down’ which I find hilarious… oh the stories I could tell from my time as night manager in a hotel in Belsize Park 😉

    • January 19, 2010 at 4:49 pm

      But if you’re not occupying the room at the time, wouldn’t the bed have gotten cold again after they’ve left?

      And I would LOVE to hear your stories!! My company do software for some hotel chains, and the stories some of them have are brilliant. Nearly as great as all of my charity shop stories 😉

  2. January 19, 2010 at 4:56 pm

    That might be a blog fuel actually, stories from the night!

  3. lyndseyjenkins
    January 19, 2010 at 8:35 pm

    Another question – is it april fools day?

    • January 19, 2010 at 9:04 pm

      Not unless that nap I had on the tube on the way to work actually lasted a lot longer than I thought 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

I love comments and will generally answer any that are left - so please do leave one!

