Home > Arts, London, Review, Theatre > ghost stories, arts theatre

ghost stories, arts theatre

Ghost Stories

I will start by saying that I don’t want this review to be a spoiler for anyone who is intending to see the show. So, I will be vague where necessary, and ‘keep the secret’!

I love being scared.

I mean I really, really love it. I think that’s why I no longer go to theme parks, as it was never the adrenalin rush of speed that did it for me, it came from fear that I might fall out. These days, you’re so tightly strapped into everything that there’s no fear there. Well, not for me, anyway.

I love scary films, but not the stupid Hollywood ‘horror’ ones which are mainly slasher-types. I’m usually a sucker for the J/K-Horrors where the menace is always just out of sight. They tend to really ramp up the tension effectively – and that’s what fear is, the feeling that there’s something bad about to happen. Saying that though, I thought The Conjuring was pretty jumpy – there was one part
where I hid my face in my hands in expectation.

I keep meaning to go and see The Woman In Black as everyone tells me that’s dead scary, but it’s a bit like the London Eye. It appears to be there forever, so I keep thinking “Oh yeah, I’ll do that one day”, but there’s no pressing urgency. I’d seen the posters for Ghost Stories and heard great reviews, so when there was a special offer on the tickets, I quickly booked mine and looked forward to it for weeks!

On Tuesday, I took my seat and chatted over-excitedly with my mate about what we might see from the music and the clues on and around the stage.

It didn’t start how I was expecting, and considering I had purposely not read any in-depth reviews and there was a lot of hype around ‘keeping the secret’ of Ghost Stories, I did wonder whether it was all a front for something else. I couldn’t work out whether this disappointed me, or whether actually it was better than what I had been expecting.

Just as I was getting to a point where I would have had to make my mind up, it all changed, and we were thrust into the main part of the show.

There is so much I can’t fault. The acting was superb, considering there are three monologue heavy main narratives as well as the overall ‘star’. Stand outs in a small but fantastic cast were the main character Paul Kemp and Philip Whitchurch (next-door neighbour Tyler from My Hero if anyone used to watch it) as a night watchman / security guard.

So, the acting was great. The staging was brilliant – really cleverly done. The lighting and sound were spot on, really atmospheric. The script too was well thought out, and the ‘stories’ were just as spooky as I was hoping for, and yet sounded so natural coming from each of the characters.

So why am I so obviously not raving about it and telling everyone “OMG GO AND SEE IT!!”?

Because they didn’t know when to stop. hey had it all so perfect. At each ‘scare’ point, I had felt the tension build, been made to jump most agreeably. I’d had points where I expected something to happen, and then they hadn’t done the obvious. Brilliant! And then they went one step too far, and in an almost cartoonish manner.

Every single time, I was made to feel as if I was sitting in a crap local travelling fairground Ghost Train in the 80s. Or watching an episode of Scooby Doo – yeah, maybe even one of the ones when they introduced bloody Scrappy too! And that was SO disappointing. It could have been so much more.

My friend was even more scathing about it, but I can’t bring myself to completely slate it. It was 95% right as far as I could see, it was just that the 5% of wrongness was such an important 5% that it completely negated the 95%

However, don’t let MY feelings on it dissuade you from seeing it as I have to say, we appeared to be in a minority in the audience. We were in the circle, and there was a LOT of hysterical screaming and prolonged nervous laughter going on in the stalls – especially near the front. I don’t know whether it was full of middle-aged women (although I guess I’m officially a middle-aged woman myself), or
whether they were drunk, or whether there was a mass of giggling schoolgirls below us, but it obviously seems to appeal to a lot of people.

Such a shame. Such a disappointment for me. But saying that, I have tried to forget the 5% and a few days later I keep remembering snatches of the good bits. And they were good.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

I love comments and will generally answer any that are left - so please do leave one!

