Home > Book Reviews, Books, London, Londoner, Review > londoners: the days & nights of london now – craig taylor

londoners: the days & nights of london now – craig taylor

Londoners

Craig Taylor is a Canadian journalist and writer who has been living in London for at least a decade.  He claims to love London (he has chosen to live here above Canada, after all) but I wouldn’t have guessed that he did from this book.

The book was Radio 4’s Book Of The Week last year, and has received much critical acclaim. I decided to give it a go as an audiobook – especially as I have been doing a lot of walking recently, and obviously that is almost always on the streets of London.

Around 80 people were interviewed for the book, and this is more an exercise in editing on the author’s behalf.

I was looking forward to hearing from people that keep London ticking, the unseen perhaps – the ones who see a different London to the one that I do. I felt that they would be the stories to really make the book ‘pop’. The ones where readers are forced to see the city in a different way.

The book was divided into sections (eg arriving, living, working, departing, dying etc) although these seemed a bit of a flimsy way to bunch the stories, as invariably people’s experiences tended to go beyond the boundaries of that particular aspect.

Now, as you may realise, I LOVE this ever-changing city that I live in.  I defintiely choose to be here, and although I sometimes entertain the thought of leaving and moving somewhere more rural (as I did growing up), when I give it a little more thought, I realise that I am in no way ready for that.  I would miss SO much about London.  To be entirely honest, I don’t think I’m old enough to leave yet.  There is still so much to experience!

Although I have a deep-set love for London, I am also aware of its faults. I can’t have lived here most of my life without acknowledging them, after all.  I’m not blind to them, but I am accepting of them as there are so many positives.

With that in mind, I have to say I wanted to love this book so much, and I ended up hating it.

It felt so biased.  There seemed to be a huge bias towards people complaining bitterly about London – in some ways that I agreed with, but often in ways that I didn’t.  The times that the peopel were upbeat and positive, they were mainly just talking about their very interesting jobs (eg bus control room operators, Spitalfields market trader, stock-broker turned cabbie, funeral director, the actress who is the voice of London Underground), and they didn’t tend to offer an opinion on London itself – so the only opinions seemed to be extremely negative.

I don’t think that it helped that not very far into the book at all, a South African that lived here for a while describes London as “…a city full of Asperger’s people…”  How rude!  It’s funny how London is possibly one of the most multiculturally diverse places in the world, and yet people always refer to ‘Londoners’ as being a certain way.

The only people that seemed to be very positive and confess their love for London were people that lived in the East End or Essex borders.  The stockbroker turned cabbie, the market trader, and the old lady whose daughter keeps wanting to get her a nice flat in Broxbourne, but who says “London gets to you. I can’t leave it. There’s too much quiet in the countryside.”

There seemed to be so much missed out from what makes London great, and different to other place in Britain.  However, this in itself cemented my love for London, and made me see it through different eyes yet again.  I feel that there was so much unexplored – but so much that I haven’t explored myself.

And I have to say, the disappointment in this book has inspired me, and given me an idea to do something myself.  Watch this space (but don’t hold your breath!)

  1. Craig Taylor
    May 20, 2013 at 2:31 am

    Sorry to hear you hated the book. Good luck with your own project.
    -Craig

    • May 20, 2013 at 6:46 pm

      Thanks Craig, and I’m sorry about that. My biased love couldn’t handle what felt like an unbalanced view. Perhaps it wasn’t intended that way, but that’s how it came across 😦

  2. May 20, 2013 at 9:26 am

    I’m like you, I love Londinium and I’m not blind to its faults either. I think this tome might really wind me up lol. When I’m abroad I love telling peeps about London, culturally and for diversity we are so so so lucky, this is a city where the wealthy and the poor can have an amazing time on a shoestring if you know where to look and are canny. I adore it for that. One of the readers of my novel said reading it made her miss London, all the references to places made her feel nostalgic for the bits she loved too. That made me happy. I’m glad I was born here. x

    • May 20, 2013 at 6:48 pm

      Kindred spirits 😉 I really need to get round to reading Gunshot Glitter, don’t I? It’s on my To read list – honest!

      • May 20, 2013 at 8:17 pm

        Yes, read it damn you! Lol. I think you’ll really like it. Yes, I am slightly biased : ) x

  3. May 27, 2013 at 11:02 am

    Write your book! And I am in the privileged position of knowing that you can do it. Love to hear what you are thinking about email me when you have a moment if it’s teh right time to share ideas…(sometimes it’s not, sometimes you have to live with them for awhile)

    • May 27, 2013 at 10:36 pm

      Thanks Bridget – and thanks for the vote of confidence 🙂

      Once I have properly formulated my idea, I’ll drop you a line x

  4. JoV
    September 14, 2013 at 12:02 pm

    Sorry that you didn’t like the book but I have this one on my Kindle and will read it one day.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

I love comments and will generally answer any that are left - so please do leave one!

