Home > Background Blah > goodnight nanny

goodnight nanny

Image

I took this photo of my nanny on her last birthday less than 8 months ago
Wasn’t looking bad for 95, was she?

Tonight, the sweetest old lady in the entire world passed away, thankfully peacefully after a fitful day.

I will stand by the statement no matter what.

At the start of this week, she said that she didn’t want to die. Yesterday, she said she was ready. Today she said that a doctor had come and visited her and said that she’d better hurry up as she was meant to have gone on Thursday (this was actually a hallucination or dream).

This afternoon, she not only said goodbye to everyone, she then started singing “Sweet Goodbye”.

And THAT is why she was the sweetest, kindest, loveliest, funniest, most switched-on old lady in the entire world.  And why I am so sad that she has gone, but so happy that it was when she wanted to.

To some, it may seem strange for me to post this – for me it is a way to say it, and release.

  1. January 11, 2013 at 9:15 pm

    Bless you x

  2. January 11, 2013 at 9:33 pm

    Lovely post. I lost my nan last year, she asked for a mince pie just before she died. Hope you are OK

  3. Goodomens
    January 11, 2013 at 9:50 pm

    Beautiful post Son. Big hug. R

  4. January 12, 2013 at 5:47 am

    Sometimes I think spirits do come for our loved ones. My grandmother saw her husband of 50+ years come to her and say they would be together soon, and she soon followed.

    This post is such a lovely way to honor your Nanny. My condolences to you and your family.

    • January 12, 2013 at 7:24 am

      Thank you – she was so adamant, and she definitely knew it was her time, and was at peace with that. I like to think she had someone there to show her the way x

  5. SuzieQ
    January 12, 2013 at 7:08 am

    So sorry to hear about our lovely Nan. Thinking of you all xxx

  6. January 12, 2013 at 12:22 pm

    So sorry, Sonia. She sounds like a wonderful soul. I’m glad that you and your family got to spend precious time with her and say goodbye. x

  7. Alan Shaw
    January 14, 2013 at 5:59 pm

    Very moving, I’m sure she would have been proud of you. And she looks great for 95!

  1. May 4, 2013 at 2:31 pm

I love comments and will generally answer any that are left - so please do leave one!

