Home > Book Reviews, Books, Review > my 5 most disappointing reads of 2012

my 5 most disappointing reads of 2012

Following on from my last post listing my 5 most memorable reads of 2012, I bring you the 5 that I read so that I can make sure that YOU don’t have to!

The Pleasures of Men by Kate Williams:  One of the most misleading book covers I have encountered.  One of the most misleading titles too!  If I had been looking for a history lesson, I probably would have appreciated the creative way it had been delivered, but I wasn’t looking for a history lesson. I was looking for a novel, and unfortunately they make me expect believable characters that act believably, a plot, and some form of conclusion.

Promise Me Eternity by Ian Fox:  I cannot stress how grating I find clunky dialogue.  Nobody speaks the way that they do in this book.  And what happened to the plot?

In Search Of Adam by Caroline Smailes:  I am not one to shy away from books covering difficult subject matter, in fact I will often seek them out to see how they are handled.  If this had been the first such book that I had read, I would probably never have read another.  Depressing and yet somehow smug – it felt too much like it wanted to be ‘worthy’.

Hope: A Tragedy by Shalom Auslander:  It really was a toss up between this and Twelve Months by Steven Manchester, but this won through in the end!   A novel that thinks it can get by with just one idea and then churns that idea out over and over again, thinking that it’s enough to make you think there is a story in there somewhere. No!

Fifty Shades of Grey by E L James:  “Oh my!”, did anyone see this coming?  One of my most visited blog posts this year.  I am so proud that I managed to force myself right to the end of this.  It shows that I have more stamina than I give myself credit for.  A bit like Anastasia.  Although my outspokenness about it means that I obviously don’t bite my lip quite as much as she does.

There was one other book that should have made the list, but I have refrained from actually posting a review as it was written by a client, and well, that could put me in an awkward situation…however, I did give it a lowly 1-star review on Goodreads, if you’re a friend of mine on there 😉

  1. December 31, 2012 at 2:29 pm

    Can you quote a sample of the clunky dialogue – just so when I’m down about my own writing I can be smug and think well, at least I didn’t write that….or is that so mean spirited I’m bound to get my just reward when someone finds a worse example in my own writing? probably.

  2. January 12, 2013 at 3:24 pm

    I’m quite surprised that nothing I recommended made it on this list! 😛

    • January 12, 2013 at 4:59 pm

      Well, Mr Necropolis Rising worked his way off the list by being a numpty and uploading a working draft – so I couldn’t fault it as I haven’t actually read the finished product 😀

  3. January 13, 2013 at 1:35 pm

    He uploaded a working draft? :S Self publishing is great, but sad that some authors are sacrificing the quality of their work by rushing things.

    • January 13, 2013 at 1:38 pm

      Did you not see our exchange? I think it was actually on Amazon. Cos I’d moaned about various things he had a go at me that I didn’t understand the concept of pulp fiction, and I said that I certainly did – that his wasn’t the first zombie book I’d read, and that the points I’d made, I stood by. Eg, if you are going to mention Robert De Niro, don’t spell his name wrong.

      Apparently Robert De niro wasn’t mentioned in the final version, which set the alarm bells ringing, and he downloaded the book from amazon and saw that it wasn’t the final version 😀 There were a LOT of mistakes in it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

I love comments and will generally answer any that are left - so please do leave one!

