Home > Book Reviews, Books > beyond evil – neil white

beyond evil – neil white

Beyond Evil

I have missed a couple of Neil White books (which I will be going back to read at some stage), but this one isn’t part of the DC Laura McGanity series, I spotted that it was only 99p, I needed a good thriller and I love Neil White – I couldn’t go wrong, could I?

Set in York, it starts with the discovery of the mutilated body of one-time lottery-winner Billy Privett.  After his win, Billy had been very much the party-boy, but his namehad been tainted by the death of a teenage girl in his swimming pool a year before – a death that has haunted DI Sheldon Brown ever since.

His lawyer had always been sure of Privett’s innocence in the matter, but it falls to her colleague Charlie Barker and Brown himself to unravel what really happened that night.

If you’ve never read Neil White but like a good detective thriller, you should really give this one a go – especially at 99p, it’s a bargain.

At first, as you are introduced to the main characters, you wonder how the hell they have anything to do with each other and how the story is going to tie-up.  Think Christopher Brookmyre, Carl Hiassen or even Guy Ritchie, and you’ll get what I mean.

They do tie up neatly though – and quite unexpectedly.  Every time I thought I knew what had actually happened, I was proven wrong a couple of pages (clicks) later – and I love that, as long as I don’t feel like I am purposely being led down the wrong path.

Fast-paced, action-packed and clever. It was exactly what I was looking for and I loved it!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

I love comments and will generally answer any that are left - so please do leave one!

