Home > Book Reviews, Books, Kindle > the artist – angelo marcos

the artist – angelo marcos

The Artist

I have no idea what it was that inspired me to get this book, probably a recommendation on Amazon, but there don’t seem to have been many people that have read / reviewed it!

A young actress regains consciousness in a basement in London. The room she is in is dirty and bare, apart from a mirror on the wall opposite her.  She is tightly tied to the chair she is sitting on.  A voice over a loudspeaker informs her that she has 15 minutes to live, and that she’d better make the most of it.

Troubled fourteen year old Kaylin lives on a London estate with her mum who is a struggling actress.  Whilst round a friend’s house, Kaylin learns that there is a serial killer targetting actresses, and she begins to fear for her mum’s life.

I do love me a trashy stabby-thriller-catchy-killer type of book every now and then.  And I have to admit, I really enjoyed this one.

It’s not the most descriptive book, it’s not a clear window into the souls of the characters, but there was something easy and compelling about it.

All the way through I kept convincing myself that I knew what was going to happen next.  I knew how it was going to end, and then I’d change my mind, and know that it was going to end a different way.

I think that one of the reasons I actually look back on this story with a slight smile is because I really didn’t know how it was going to end.  It kept me guessing right to the last few pages / clicks and was in fact more clever than I was expecting.  Kudos to Mr Marcos for this, as there are not many thrillers that I haven’t been able to guess over recent years.

A good easy read, does what it says on the tin 🙂

  1. September 19, 2012 at 10:16 pm

    I now desperately want this book!

    • September 19, 2012 at 10:31 pm

      Ha ha!! 🙂 It is really easy, and not exactly deep…but it definitley made me guess all the way through. If that’s what you like from a trashy thriller (which I do), then it wont disappoint 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

I love comments and will generally answer any that are left - so please do leave one!

