Home > Background Blah, London > back to school

back to school

Often in my head…

About fifteen years ago, I did a creative writing course at a local adult education centre.

I met some fantastic people, and the tutor was a complete headcase – an ageing poet who was rather too eccentric and exuberant to take seriously.

However, my circumstances changed somewhat after the course – I moved from accounts to marketing and communications at work (yes, I know, not the most obvious move in the world), and I kind of used this new angle as an outlet for any ‘creativity’. (Of course, all my press releases were based in truth…)

I then got married, had a baby, went straight back to work when she was 2.5 months old, became rather ill, etc etc etc and as my whole working day became JUST writing (moving into a completely communications based role), my desire to write in my free time became non-existent.

Since leaving that job, my role has been far more varied, and the writing aspect of my day has declined.  This year, I felt I was now at a stage where I was actually starting to think of situations and characters.  So I have signed up for another  ‘Introduction to Creative Writing’ course.

I am crap at being a student, and I have no idea how I am going to feel about going back to school, so I thought that this 12 week short course could be a good non-committing idea.  Once this comes to an end, if I feel prepared to do more then I would have that opportunity.

I am dead scared though.  I start tonight and I am terrible at meeting new people, and I know I am goign to be way odler than everyone else, and I think I might have to down a bottle of vodka before I get there just to steady my nerves!!

Wish me luck guys! xx

  1. September 14, 2012 at 10:53 am

    GOOD LUCK!!! You’ll be fine, you come across as a lovely person so just be yourself. It’s normal to feel nervous. I did an evening course in photography recently as I wanted to get back in touch with my creative side. It wasn’t half as bad as I thought it’d be and now I’m forever taking photos! In fact it’s given me the confidence to completely change my career!! P.S I’m 31 and was the youngest person there!!

    • September 14, 2012 at 11:00 am

      Thank you SO much for your vote of confidence – and kind words 🙂 Oh to be 31 again…although i am still surprised to find I’m not 29! it’s always a shock. I am sure I will report back on how I found it.

      Have you been moved to do any more courses?

      • September 17, 2012 at 4:14 pm

        Yes the age thing does tend to creep up on you. I still behave like I’m 21. I really should start growing up a bit haha. Looking forward to hearing your update. Hope it went well 🙂 The photography course is the third course I’ve done in 4 years. I also took Levels 1 & 2 in Interior Design and made some great friends. I wrote a post on my blog about the photography course and trying new things, etc. http://www.agirliknow.blogspot.co.uk

  2. Suzie Q
    September 14, 2012 at 12:53 pm

    Sonnie, you will Rock it!! I look forward to reading your new material 🙂 Good luck 🙂
    Love you hun xxxx

    • September 16, 2012 at 1:11 pm

      Thank you hunny – love you too xx

  3. sylviefan
    September 15, 2012 at 1:21 pm

    Hi Sonia. Just read yr blog and really hope your writing class class went well. Doesn’t matter if you are one of the older generation – I’m often decades older than students I’ve studied with. But there are usually some wise heads on young shoulders. And i don’t think you are crap at meeting new people – you are one of the most welcoming and chatty supper club members and that invariably involves meeting new people! See you at the September Feast 17.
    Helen
    PS your Pimms Sorbet has been a real winner with my mum who’s a great ice cream maker. I’ll have to send her your gin and tonic sorbet recipe.

    • September 16, 2012 at 1:10 pm

      Thank so much Helen 🙂 It was a lot easier than I firset feared (things usually are!).

      Glad your mum enjoyed the Pimm’s Sorbet – personally I don’t drink gin & tonic, but apparently that was good too 😀

  4. September 25, 2012 at 10:32 am

    You must be a few weeks in now, how’s it going? I wish you lots of luck, it’s brilliant you’ve taken the initiative to do this. I attend a writers class on a Monday, it’s really informal and I love it. I’ve never actually completed a writer’s course, though I sent off for one donkeys years ago I never even started the damn thing. I don’t think I’m good at being accountable by mail order!

    • September 25, 2012 at 4:44 pm

      I’m actually really enjoying it – and I have found myself writing things, which is good (even if the actual writing itself isn’t any good!)

      You’re probably a bit liek me, I need the actual physical necessity of being somewhere to convince myself to get my arse into gear, distance learnign would just be too easy to ignore 😉

  1. October 20, 2012 at 12:45 pm
  2. November 17, 2012 at 9:46 am

I love comments and will generally answer any that are left - so please do leave one!

