Home > Book Reviews, Books > on the island – tracey garvis-graves

on the island – tracey garvis-graves

On The Island

As mentioned before, I am having a run on ‘light reads’ at the moment – giving my head a chance to chill out as I have been a bit stressy.  Light reads has included a few chick-lit books that I have kind of shied away from over recent years.

I have joined a Facebook group that are quite into chick-lit, and there are MANY titles that I almost cringe when I read the blurb, but there are a few that have caught my eye.  This being one of them.

Anna is a thirty year old teacher, who has been in a 7 year relationship with a man who seems to be unable to commit.  Feeling her biological clock ticking, and wondering whether she is wasting her time, she gives him an ultimatum before taking a special private tutoring position.

She is to spend the summer holidays tutoring TJ, a 16 year old boy who has fallen behind in his studies as he has recently beaten Hodgkin’s Lymphoma.  Her & TJ are to fly out to meet the rest of his family at their summer retreat in the Maldives, but on the last leg of their journey, their light-aircraft pilot has a heart attack, crashing them into the sea.

The book follows their story as they get on with life as ‘survivors’ on a small deserted island, amongst the hundreds that make up the Maldives.

It all feels a little worrying at first, as there is a rather large age gap, and you just know that there is going to be some kind of romance happen at some point, but it is actually rather surprising the route that the book takes.  Surprising in a good way that is – it doesn’t do the ‘expected’.

I enjoyed this a lot more than I thought I should.  It was obviously a really easy read, and a lot of it felt quite repetitive, but that was really good, as it was mirroring what the characters were experiencing – there’s not a lot to do on a small island after all!

I also thought that it was extremely clever how a natural disaster was used within the story – it gave a more recognisable and therefore realistic twist to it all.

There was also a very good use of the two narrators in alternating chapters, so you got a more rounded view of their life.

What could have been tacky and obvious was actually turned into a very good read.

  1. August 27, 2012 at 11:35 pm

    I am reading this book. In fact, I thought the perspective of both was creative. I like it so far, but thanks for the review!

    • August 29, 2012 at 10:01 am

      Will be interested to know what you thought once you complete it 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

I love comments and will generally answer any that are left - so please do leave one!

