Home > Book Reviews, Books, Free stuff, Kindle, London > 27 (twenty-seven) – r j heald

27 (twenty-seven) – r j heald

Twenty-seven

I was contacted b the very lovely author of this book, asking whether I would like to review it.  She piqued my interest with the blurb – it’s based in London (which I am a sucker for) and is based on 27 being an important life-defining age.  Not only is it the age that the likes of Kurt Cobain and Amy Winehouse die, but it was also the age I had The Girl – and the age I automatically THINK I am when people ask me.

I’m not.  Obviously.

The story follows a group of six friends who met at University over the period of a year.  Their lives have gone in very different directions since those heady, young, carefree days and we open with Renee flicking through their photos on Facebook and despairing that the rest of the group seem to have made so much more of their lives and are obviously so much happier than she is.  We’ve all done that, haven’t we?

As we meet each of the circle, and gain a better insight into their thoughts and lives, we see that none  of them seem quite as happy and successful as the image they try to portray.

I loved the whole premise of the book.  I think 27/28 really is a turning point in life.  In your teens, you’re expected to be little more than a kid really, there’s no expectations, your life is meant to be fun.  Early to mid 20s, you’re generally leaving Uni, working out what direction you want to take, cementing the friendships that are mor elikely to last, having more serious relationships.

By the time you’re coming out of that and hitting your LATE 20s, it menas that 30 is just around the corner – another decade, and when you’re young 30 seems to be the age that you believe you should have your life all worked out by…so it’s no surprise when people hit 27 and start panicking that they’re nowhere near working it out!

This book totally captures that sense of panic. indecision and the totally unsubstantiated feeling that you’re the only one that hasn’t worked it all out — everyone else you know is doing it so much better than you!

Each of the characters has their strengths and flaws, drives and fears and they are so well written that they honestly feel like your own friends.  Although I took hardly any time to speed through the book, I was hanging off towards the end as I knew that I would feel a real loss once they had gone forever.

Don’t mistake this book for run-of-the-mill chick-lit, it is far from it.  It’s contemporary, it’s very ‘now’ and it isn’t afraid to tackle difficult subjects – and tackle them very well.

Don’t try to search for the book by typing in ’27’ – it can be a nightmare to find! Find it here on Goodreads and here on Amazon. There is currently a giveaway on Goodreads which I would strongly suggest entering!

  1. August 5, 2012 at 7:27 pm

    You’ve sold me! Great review, I’ve enterd Sonia ; )

  2. August 5, 2012 at 11:18 pm

    Thanks for your review Sonia! Very glad you enjoyed the 27 🙂

  1. August 19, 2012 at 12:51 pm

I love comments and will generally answer any that are left - so please do leave one!

