Home > Book Reviews, Books, Free stuff, Kindle, Review > sign of the times – susan buchanan

sign of the times – susan buchanan

Sign Of The Times

I picked this up on Kindle as Sooz, the author, tweeted me along with a few others when she had a day that she was giving it away free on Amazon. (It’s now only £1.98 so wont break the bank!)

As it was free, I downloaded it without really looking at it, thinking that if it wasn’t my kind of thing, I could always delete it.

I’m not really one for chick-lit, and I’m definitely not into star-signs (but then that’s typical of Aquarians), but to be honest, i started reading it without even checking the blurb as I wanted something quite light.  The star-sign thing probably would’ve put me off if I had realised, but I’m glad that I didn’t!

The book starts with Holly who is a kind of travel-writer.  She’s Scottish, pretty, engaged and off to Italy alone to research her next book.  Shortly after she arrives, she meets Dario – will she succumb to temptation?

I have to admit, after the first chapter, I wasn’t really feeling it, it felt oh so very chick-lit and formulaic, but when the chapter ended, it switched to a different character, which (having not read th eblurb) I wasn’t expecting.

This is what makes this book that little bit different.  The twelve chapters are about twelve different people whose lives are intertwined somehow.  A lot of the chapters overlap a bit, so you hear part of the story from one person’s point of view, and then from someone else’s.  It was very clever in that way.

Having such a vast cast of characters was a little confusing at first, but when you finally saw how they all fit together, it all made sense.

With tales of love, passion, adultery, divorce, teenage pregnancy, disability, guilt and mourning among others, it really did cover all emotions.

Yeah, it’s chick-lit, but apart from the first chapter, I think it’s got a hell of a lot more going on for it than your average froth!

  1. July 1, 2012 at 9:44 am

    Does it talk about 12 people of 12 star signs – their characteristics of sorts?

    • July 1, 2012 at 10:07 am

      Yes. it does. each chapter starts with their starsign, and a quick synopsis of their character based on that.

      • July 1, 2012 at 10:09 am

        Ah, ok! Well, then I think I should take a look at it – more like their characteristics being applied in real life!

        • July 1, 2012 at 10:26 am

          It’s a very good read. And the author is lovely 🙂

        • July 1, 2012 at 10:52 am

          Thanks for the recommendation! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

I love comments and will generally answer any that are left - so please do leave one!

