Home > family, Food, London, Restaurant, Review > rhodes w1, marble arch (1 feb)

rhodes w1, marble arch (1 feb)

Huge sculpture in the foyer of The Cumberland Hotel

I have been so behind on my posts for so long, with everything that has been going on, but I am determined to get some posts down.

On my 40th birthday, I took my parents for a gorgeous lunch at Gary Rhodes’ restaurant, Rhodes W1 Restaurant in Marble Arch, which was actually their Christmas present from me.  So, we met in the foyer of the Cumberland Hotel which the restaurant (and the brasserie) are part of.

It was a Wednesday lunchtime and unfortunately there were only 4 other diners the entire time we were there.  even so, the service was attentive without being at all intrusive, the waiting staff were friendly, we felt very looked after.  the restaurant itself seemed possibly slightly dated, but also slightly grand without making us feel uncomfortable or out of place.  My parents LOVED it – it’s not the kind of place they would usually go to.

The lunch deal I got was £25 for three courses.  we had looked at the menu before I booked, but when we got there, the menu was completely different, and at first I think all of us felt a little concerned that we didn’t particularly like the sound of anything on the menu – we were rather dubious.  We couldn’t have been more wrong!

Mushroom puree, chestnut mousse & maple jelly

Our ‘pre-starter’ that we were given after ordering, together with a selection of homemade breads and flavoured, whipped butters (plain, parmesan and sundried tomato).  As soon as we had this unexpected course, our minds were put at rest as it was absolutely delicious!

Slow cooked egg, artichoke veloute and hazelnut

This was the starter choice for both me and my dad, and it was absolutely delicious – surprisingly, the artichoke veloute was the star of the show – smooth, velvety and packed full of flavour.

Rabbit rilette, black pudding, prune and onion soubise

This was my mum’s choice which she was totally blown away by – said it was delicious and she could have eaten a main course of it!  It also came with the cutest tiniest slice of brioche in the world!

Everybody say "Aaaah" at the dinky little brioche!

By this time, the wine was flowing, we were relaxed and totally happy with our choice of restaurant!  So, onto mains.

Roast cod, cavolo nero, garlic and quinoa

Mum’s choice – she totally loved it, and was especially impressed with the crispy fish skin.

Ravioli of butternut squash, ox cheek, beurre noisette and sage

Me and my dad went for the same main again and OMG was it a good one!  I love the combination of butternut squash and sage at the best of times, but in beautifully thin pasta and nestling on a tender, meaty, flavour-packed, melt-in-the-mouth braised ox cheek, this was one of my favourite dishes EVER!

Oops!

I was so excited by our unexpected ‘intercourse’ that I forgot to take a photo! It was an amazing rhubarb compote with vanilla rice-pudding and buttermilk ice cream.  Totally refreshing and I left what I didn’t like…

Parsnip custard, honeycomb, orange ice cream & blood orange

Yes, I know what you’re probably thinking – I couldn’t decide whether to go for this one or not, but convinced myself that I really like carrot cake, so why would parsnip for dessert be unacceptable.  It…was…fabulous!!  Especially with the honeycomb!

Peanut butter parfait, salted caramel, lime and banana sorbet

The parentals both opted for this – I had been put off as I really hate banana…but I had a taste and it was all absolutely delicious.  The parfait was smooth and creamy, there were caramelised peanuts on top and it was in crisped thin slices of banana bread.  Totally scrummy.

We finished with coffee and gorgeous petit fours, and came away extremely happy – and my mum and dad couldn’t stop raving about how lovely it was and made me send all the photos for them to show their friends.  Would definitely go again!

Passion fruit jellies, raspberry & chocolate macaroons, mini blueberry & white choc muffins

  1. sylviefan
    April 21, 2012 at 6:55 pm

    OMG it looks and sounds amazing – how did you get the deal?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

I love comments and will generally answer any that are left - so please do leave one!

