Home > Background Blah > thanks karma!

thanks karma!

Not a load of balls!

When the Health Lottery first launched last October (I think), I was very against it, as it was giving less money to charitable causes than the usual National Lottery, and this was highlighted quite a lot in the sector press.

Anyway, as my own snub to the Health Lottery and Richard Desmond, I decided to set up standing orders to take part in three hospice lotteries, as this way the actual charity gets much more money – and you still get your gambling fix.  I decided to support Havens Hospices, The Children’s Trust and St Francis Hospice.

All together, I pay about £17/month between the three of them.

Two weeks after I started playing, I received a £10 cheque through the post from Havens as one of my numbers had come up.  I felt slightly guilty that I probably hadn’t even paid that much to them yet, so I decided not to cash it.

Tonight, I got home and to my absolute shock, I have won more than a grand from Havens!

Yes, I will be cashing it this time.

Anyway  all I wanted to say really is that if you’re thinking of doing the lottery, please consider supporting your local hospice, or perhaps one that looked after a relative in their final days – the majority of them tend to run lotteries, and it’s a great source of income for them.

And you might win!

  1. April 2, 2012 at 7:32 pm

    Total karma! Brilliant, well deserved. Enjoy!

    • April 2, 2012 at 7:44 pm

      I like to believe karma exists 😀

  2. April 2, 2012 at 9:34 pm

    Oh you beauty! Enjoy it!

    I did t realise things like hospice lotteries exist, but I do make monthly donations to Zoe’s Place children’s hospice and the Anthony Nolan trust!

    • April 3, 2012 at 8:01 am

      Yeah, I donate to barnardo’s and the dogs trust…but lotteries are a little gamble buzz too 😉

  3. April 3, 2012 at 4:42 am

    That is so cool! I believe in karma as well…nice going. x

  1. April 28, 2012 at 2:09 pm

I love comments and will generally answer any that are left - so please do leave one!

