Home > Background Blah > aesthetically pleasing statements

aesthetically pleasing statements

Pump it up!

When I used to pay for everything in cash, I used to make sure that I would always get an exact £x.00 of petrol at the garage.  Getting those two zeros at the end used to give me a real feeling of satisfaction.

But then invariably I would spoil the aesthetics and all my efforts by buying a paper, a bar of chocolate or some chewing gum.  I never thought about this beforehand and put in exactly the £x.00 minus the cost of my other purchase(s) – but then I have never really been much good at knowing what the price of these things are anyway…and they were usually impulse buys.

Even after I started paying for my petrol by card, I still tried to get the exact pounds at the pump – but why?  All it does is gives me nice fat zeroes on my (only online) statements.

I have stopped doing this now.  Somehow paying £16.47 (or similar) of petrol makes me feel happily rebellious.

Categories: Background Blah Tags: , ,
  1. March 18, 2012 at 11:58 am

    I am exactly the same! I cannot even remember the time when I last paid for petrol in cash and yet I somehow “have” to always end up with a round figure. And I too feel a bit wild and breathless with daring if I just stop randomly now, it still feels a little naughty!

  2. April 13, 2012 at 3:02 pm

    Ha! I do that as well! Might try being daring and see what happens but not today seeing as it’s Friday 13th. Something weird might happen.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

I love comments and will generally answer any that are left - so please do leave one!

