Home > Book Reviews, Books, Free stuff, Kindle, Review > freaks – tess gerritsen (a rizzoli & isles short story)

freaks – tess gerritsen (a rizzoli & isles short story)

Freaks

This is just a short story – in fact I think it’s probably the shortest short story I’ve ever read!  It was free on Kindle, and I thought I’d give it a bash as I have never read any Tess Gerritsen, and I do in fcat really like Rizzoli & Isles the TV series, set on her books.

It was rather comforting to get in a story and already have a very strong image of the main characters. And it’s a good job that I did as, being such a short story, there was no real opportunity to build them.

I guess this was released for Halloween or something (I downloaded it in December) as it was of a supernatural nature, rather out of keeping of any of the series that I have seen.  Of course, it’s down to Maura Isles to attempt to prove that the ‘spooky’ just can’t be true!

I have to say, I just found this all a bit silly, and by no means made me feel that I wanted to rush out and read all of Gerritsen’s books.  But I guess it would be unfair to base that judgement on a short story.

Honestly, although obviously very quick to get through, I really wouldn’t bother reading this…

  1. March 4, 2012 at 10:16 am

    I love Rizzoli & Isles (the TV series) but I must say that, having read most of Tess Gerritsen’s books (though not this short story), I wouldn’t say the character portrayals in the series necessarily represent the characters in the book with a great degree of accuracy.

    My advice would be to give Tess Gerritsen another chance, but with one of her full-length novels. http://www.tessgerritsen.com/books/

    It’s been a while since I read a lot of her books, but I seem to remember I particularly enjoyed the medical novels.

    • March 4, 2012 at 10:36 am

      Thanks Fred, I might give one of them a go at some stage – there are so many books out there to read though!! 😀

  2. March 4, 2012 at 11:44 am

    I seem to remember Tess herself getting very distressed about the response to her short story last year; it was meant as a free gift to fans to plug the gap between books and she got a tremendous amount of flack, so much so she said she wouldn’t write another short!
    The majority of her fans loved it but one of the criticisms from those who didn’t was that the characters weren’t explored fully, but with a short story one can’t do that.
    Even if the short didn’t tickle your fancy, I do recommend you read her books because they are quite simply fabulous. Treat yourself 😉

    • March 4, 2012 at 12:18 pm

      Thanks for the comment Cath – didn’t know it has been so slated by her fans…what a shame for her 😦

  1. No trackbacks yet.

I love comments and will generally answer any that are left - so please do leave one!

