Home > Book Reviews, Books, Kindle, Review > necropolis rising – dave jeffery

necropolis rising – dave jeffery

Necropolis Rising

I read this after a recommendation from a friend – plus it was only 86p on Kindle (I think the price may be even lower now!).  The same friend had recommended Hollowland, which I had really enjoyed.  I do have a soft spot for a good zombie-esque book that’s a bit crap but doesn’t take itself too seriously.

The blurb sounded rather intriguing. The military have sealed off Birmingham completely – noone is getting in and noone (or nothing) is getting out…hopefully.  However, there is a gang of crack cyber-criminals that need access, and nothing is going to stop them completing their mission and collecting their huge reward.  Not even a military crackdown of the area they need to get to.

However, it’s not just the military that they have to contend with.  A virus has swept through the city, and the inhabitants are just refusing to stay dead!

Great idea for plot, aye? Usually everyone is just trying to run away from the danger (although even in Hollowland, the heroine was trying to make her way somewhere specific).

Oh my GOD this was awful! The story was OK, but the writing could have been done by my daughter, and the proof-reading…well, that just hadn’t been done at all!  There was so much that jarred against me about the writing, grammar, and glaringly obvious plot-mistakes that I couldn’t enjoy the story at all!

For example:  “…at fifty nine years of age, George Mitchell had fallen in love…” but in the next paragraph “At 25 she was thirty nine years his junior...”  Argh!! That’s simple maths!

Another plot mistake:  “…the only child of Pauline and Arthur Everett.” but on the next page “…His mum, Joy, was anything but joyful...”. I’d wondered if he’d changed the mum’s name to Joy to avoid the same couple-name as the Fowler’s from Eastenders!

Other proof-reading errors included ‘is’ instead of ‘in’, ‘to’ instead of ‘do’, even ‘Universities’ instead of ‘University’s’ amongst many many more.  And if you are going to use Robert De Niro’s name in your book – don’t spell it Nero!!

Awful!!! Perhaps later editions of the book will have all the mistakes taken out, but with them all in, reading this was such hard work I couldn’t even contemplate reading the follow-up!

  1. February 27, 2012 at 2:41 pm

    Well, I wasn’t sure if I was going to login and reveal myself as the person who recommended this or not! I have read a lot of books by Ian Woodhead and he is really bad with grammar and mistakes, so I think Dave Jeffrey was a smooth read after a few of Ian’s books. lol Mistakes and grammar don’t bother me that much though. Yeah it can be distracting, but if the author is good at bringing a character and story alive then I can cope. That’s why I read a lot of Woodhead – his characters are just so real, but you should stay well away from his material 😛

    If you want to read a good zombie book, read Autumn by David Moody. The zombie crowd rave about his Autumn series and I’m a fan myself. It’s been a while since I’ve read it (I’m waiting for the 6th book to come out now). His first book in the series was self published and may have some errors, but I can’t be sure. I think it’s still worth the read.

    • February 28, 2012 at 8:04 am

      I’ve read plenty of good zombie books really – it wasn’t so much the little typos etc that bothered me, it was the majorly glaring errors (like the names and the age difference).

      Anyway – Dave Jeffery seems a thoroughly nice bloke, and has said he’ll send me a free copy when he’s made all the corrections 😉

  2. March 7, 2012 at 2:27 pm

    Guilty as charged! I’ve uploaded the wrong edit. This has been addressed and the version made free for twenty-four hours.

    I wish to thank both here for your patience.

    Very best

    Dave

  1. No trackbacks yet.

I love comments and will generally answer any that are left - so please do leave one!

