Home > Background Blah, Conversations, family > my mum and being 40

my mum and being 40

40th birthday

So, yesterday was my 40th birthday.  I had the day off and took my parents out for an absolutely stunning lunch at Rhodes W1. It was their Christmas present from me, but was the first time we all had a chance to go out together – exactly the same as my birthday last year.

Anyway, my mum sent me a text tonight asking if I would send her the photos of our food that I took (will post tomorrow) and to tell me that she had a fantastic time, and that she hoped I had a lovely birthday.

I sent back: “I had a brilliant day. I have had a lovely day today too 🙂 I LIKE being 40!!”

Her response made me well up a little: “I’m so glad. U know, Pam (her older sister who died at 48) made a really big thing about being 40 but I thought it was great too, so be yourself n enjoy life as it is. Ur doing rly well Son, with lots of friends n that’s what matters, believe me. Love u loads, Mum xx”

I could even forgive her the txtspk.

  1. February 4, 2012 at 3:39 pm

    I was quite deflated after turning 30 and even 35 was very Dullsville but 5 months into being 40 and I’m realising what they meant when they said, “Life begins at 40!”

    Not literally of course, trying to explain away 39 years of life is a bit tricky but I think for those who think, “Oh No! I’m going to be/I am 40” as being a death knell to their youth the realisation that in actual fact it IS just another number and with the exception of turning 65 and getting your free bus pass, 40 is the last ‘milestone’ birthday to ‘worry about’ (perhaps the half century is celebrated, ask me in 10years)

    As if I really needed an excuse, I now recite the mantra, 40 is the new 20, 40 is the new 20…I can’t wait to celebrate being 21 again….in 7 months time! Whoopee!

    Have a magical fortieth Sonia and welcome to the club =]

    • February 4, 2012 at 3:47 pm

      You’re a sweetie 🙂 I have been loving life more than ever over the past few months – can’t see it going anywhere other than up 🙂 xx

  1. No trackbacks yet.

I love comments and will generally answer any that are left - so please do leave one!

