Home > Conversations, family, walthamstow > we three kings

we three kings

I haz kittenz

So, we just went to St Mary’s Church in Walthamstow Village as The Girl is in her school choir, and there was a concert including the choir and the orchestra.

I have to say, the choir were actually pretty good, and much as I tried not to cringe, there is something just toothachey about amateur violins and flautists!

Anyway, at one point we had to sing “We three kings” and on our way home, I was singing the alternative version that I used to sing when I was little, which went:

We three Beatles of Liverpool are
Paul on a bus
John in a car
George on a scooter
Blowing his hooter
Followed by Ringo Starr

The Girl thought that was extremely funny – and then The Man went one better by telling us the version that HE used to sing as a kid:

We three kings of Leicester Square
Selling knickers, tuppence a pair
They’re fantastic
But no elastic
That’s why our bums are bare!

I have never ever heard of that one before – would be interested to know whether anyone else sang either of them.  Was there a North/South divide – and if so, why was it the wrong way round?

  1. December 12, 2011 at 10:39 pm

    I thought that it was
    We three Kings of Orient are
    One in a taxi and one in a car
    one on a scooter bibbing his hooter…

    I forget the rest….

    but I did recall this one with the help of google:

    While shepherds washed their socks by night
    all watching ITV
    the angel of the Lord came down
    and switched to BBC.

    • December 13, 2011 at 7:39 am

      Oh yeah – we sang the shepherd’s washed one last night too – but I thought that one was WAY too obvious 😉

  2. hopeeternal
    December 12, 2011 at 10:53 pm

    Know the Leicester Square one, but slightly differently – I’m a child of the 60’s so it has obviously morphed …

    We three kings of Leicester Square,
    Selling ladies underwear.
    How fantastic,
    No elastic,
    7/6 a pair (thats 7 shillings & sixpence – I did most of my basic maths pre-decimalisation)

    hopeeternal

  3. teresue
    December 13, 2011 at 1:04 am

    Here in the States we sang:
    We three kings of Orient are,
    Smoking on a rubber cigar,
    It was loaded,
    It exploded,
    Sending our souls afar.

    I like yours better!

    • December 13, 2011 at 7:40 am

      Ooo, I don’t know if I like that one much – ‘sending our souls afar’ sounds a bit deathy and morbid for Christmas!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

I love comments and will generally answer any that are left - so please do leave one!

