Home > Arts, London, Music, Review > orpheus goes to the movies, cadogan hall

orpheus goes to the movies, cadogan hall

Ghost orchestra...but this is how close we were!

I am so behind on my blog – I have been suffering from VERY bad insomnia and other various run-downness lately that I just haven’t had my head together to formulate my posts!

Anyway – just under two weeks ago (ahem), I went along with a friend to see a youth orchestra playing at Cadogan Hall (where I recently saw Maz Jobrani).

The Orpheus Foundation offers a platform for young musicians to be part of a real performing orchestra, and play both free rehearsal and paid / fundraising concerts.  The performance that we went along to was one of the more fun ones as they were playing themes from TV and music – kind of the ‘entry level orchestral experience’ 🙂

The first half were classical pieces that happened to have been used in film:

  • Camille Saint-Saens – Danse Macabre (Jonathan Creek) – I’ve awlays loved this one
  • Giacomo Puccini – O mio babbino caro (A Room With A View)
  • Sergei Rachmaninoff – Piano Concerto #20 (Brief Encounter)

I loved Danse Macabre as ever, but unfortunately although i’m sure the other two peices were played very well, it just reiterated my previous feelings that piano concertos just aren’t really my ‘thing’.  I love the piano – especially jazz etc – but personally pianos don’t tend to work for me as a focus in an orchestra as they detract so much from the gorgeous sound of the collective instruments.

Anyway, the second half was all scores composed for film – a real John Williams extravaganza.  In fact, they actually began by playing the 20th Century Fox theme tune, which was amusing.

  • Jurassic Park
  • Schindler’s List
  • Harry Potter
  • ET
  • Star Wars
  • Indiana Jones

This half was the crowd-pleaser.  We all knew and loved the tunes, and Indiana Jones in particular is hornily fantastic! (As in I love the horns, not anything else!).

I have never seen Schindler’s List, nor heard the theme.  A violin soloist (Leonard Schreiber) came on to play it and it was SO haunting, and he was so amazing that I felt completely moved.  Although some of the faces that he pulled during his performance did in fact make me feel that I’d just done the dity with him!

All in all, it was a fantastic night, and I would definitely like to see the orchestra perform again.  especially as we started giving some of them nicknames.  Not very imaginative nicknames admittedly – Spikey Heels, Giggles, Grumpy…

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

I love comments and will generally answer any that are left - so please do leave one!

