Home > Arts, e17, Review, walthamstow > richard herring, rose & crown pub, e17

richard herring, rose & crown pub, e17

What is love anyway?

We’re very lucky in Walthamstow to have a great little arty, cultural and giggy community.

This was very much in evidence last night when the 4 day Guffaw Comedy Fest (part of the Edinburgh Fringe Warm-Up season) kicked off at Ye Olde Rose & Crown Theatre Pub.  Unlike the last time I was there, it was packed to the rafters.  Probably about 140 moist little bodies squeezed into the hot, humid and airless ‘theatre’ room above the pub.  Surprisingly, I managed to count about 30 people that I knew too – rather a high percentage, I feel.

The heaving audience was hardly surprising considering the draw of the headline act – the undeniably hilarious Richard Herring!

However, I must not get ahead of myself as we were first treated to a trio called Jigsaw who performed a load of sketches for us.  I had personally never heard of them before, so was a little nervous as to what they would be like…but I have to admit, I thought they were brilliant and will definitely look out for them in the future.  I particularly liked ‘Christmas With The Schrödingers’, but there really were a whole host of little gems (not the lettuces). Here’s an example of their stuff.

Everyone disappeared to the bar in the interval (probably to get anything with ice like I ordered!) and Richard Herring started putting out copies of his programme on the seats (and it’s a very good programme btw!).  I probably should have got my copy signed, but had to rush off after the show 😦  (if Richard Herring happens to read this, can he please just send me his signature and I’ll trace it onto my copy 😀 ).

The show is ‘What Is Love Anyway?’ and I can’t actually put it any better than on his own website:

So asked the insane, Welsh, poet-philosopher, Howard Jones in 1983. But in the intervening 28 years no one has dared to answer his questions?
Until now.

Comedian Richard Herring returns to Edinburgh for his 20th Fringe and 32nd show. Having sorted out religion (Christ on a Bike), politics (Hitler Moustache) and penises (Talking Cock), the star of award winning podcast As It Occurs To Me and Radio 4’s Richard Herring’s Objective seeks to define and destroy love. Before love destroys him. Again.

Is love just a chemical reaction in our brains by which our body selects potential sexual partners or is it a magical force which guides us unerringly to our soul mate, oddly usually waiting until we’re off our tits at a night club to do so?

Could a romantic gesture involving Ferrero Rocher chocolates get so out of control as to destroy the economic infrastructure of the United Kingdom?

Is the word being devalued if Richard’s dry cleaner claims to “love” all his customers, or is he actually only enamoured with Herring and too shy to tell him directly?

“What is love, anyway?” is a heart-warmingly honest and personal examination of the romantic (and not so romantic) adventures and misadventures of the UK’s most prolific comedian, as well as a genuine attempt to define this mysterious, debilitating, evil and wondrous emotion.

Richard took us on a rollercoaster of a ride, laughing at his stories of his first love, cringing at his two very differing tales of love for Julia Sawalha and emotionally tugged with his love for his gran.  It was a brilliant, brilliant show – and this is just the warm-up – imagine what it’s going to be like once he’s polished it a bit more 🙂

If you get a chance to see him, do – you definitely wont be disappointed!

And for those that never watched Fist of Fun (or were just too young for the 90s!)

  1. July 6, 2011 at 1:08 pm

    It was a little strange discovering Richard dated Julia as I, like him, also developed my first crush on her when I watched Press Gang. I still remember how much I disliked Dexter whatshisname for being her boyfriend… She is still as dreamy today as she was 25 years ago…

    However, back to last night’s comedic action. I agree, Jigsaw were pretty good, some sketches worked better than others I thought but certainly an overall thumbs up.

    It will be interesting to see how Richard’s act gets edited down, there was some great material last night but a few bits that could do with a trim.

    • July 6, 2011 at 1:15 pm

      I don’t think it’s that strange as I think most blokes ‘our age’ fancied her in Press Gang (the Man did too) and most of us girls wanted to be her! 😀

      I want Richard to come back to the R&C EVERY year to do a warm-up now! And that way, we can buy the DVD of the previous year and see how the show finished up 😉

  2. July 9, 2011 at 4:07 pm

    I was thinking more like strange as in I did’t imagine he’d be her type :p

    • July 9, 2011 at 4:39 pm

      Maybe you’re just disappointed as if HE was her type back then, perhaps there was the chance that YOU could hav e been 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

I love comments and will generally answer any that are left - so please do leave one!

