Home > Book Reviews, Social Networking > shit my dad says – justin halpern

shit my dad says – justin halpern

Shit My Dad Says

“You came out of your mom looking like shit. She thought you were beautiful. Don’t know what scared me most, your looks or her judgment.”

Justin Halpern became a Twitter sensation when he started his account @shitmydadsays after moving back in with his parents after a failed relationship.

His dad is 73 years old (to Justin’s 28), retired and obviously very intelligent (he worked and lectured in nuclear medicine), and his insights into life in general are a joy to behold.  He says what everyone else barely dares to think – and is a total potty-mouth with it (so don’t read it if an avalanche of swearwords offends you!)!

The book is extremely short (less than 200 pages) and s a lot of the pages taken up with random quotes, however, the real joy comes when Justin pads out the story behind where the quote came from and shows that his dad, far from being just a grumpy old man, is insightful, caring and obviously loves his family dearly.

We actually got the unabridged audiobook to listen to in the car on a long journey – and we were literally crying with laughter at some of the stories.

Loved it!

Funnily enough, last night I happened to stumble across an episode of what appears to be the TV show of it, and the dad is played by….wait for it…William Shatner?!?!?!  No swearing appeared to be involved.

“Does anyone your age know how to comb their fucking hair? It looks like two squirrels crawled on their head and started fucking.”

“The dog is not bored, it’s a fucking dog. It’s not like he’s waiting for me to give him a fucking rubix cube. He’s a god damned dog.”

  1. Lee
    March 15, 2011 at 6:00 pm

    Finally! A book I can relate to

  2. March 15, 2011 at 6:55 pm

    Here in the U.S. the media has just began calling it “Stuff my Dad says.” I really wish it had been taken up by a cable channel and aired later at night so they could do some swearing at least. It’s just not the same as the Tweets. 😦

    • March 16, 2011 at 11:45 am

      Ha! I actually heard it advertised yesterday as “Beep my dad says” – with the guy actually saying “Beep”.

  3. Emm
    March 17, 2011 at 12:19 pm

    Half way through you review, I was definitely going to buy the book but I love the idea that there is an audiobook! I’ll have to buy it for our road trip next month.

    • March 17, 2011 at 3:00 pm

      It lasts about 2 1/2 hours – as I said, it’s a very short book…but the guy narrating is brilliant!

      • Emm
        March 17, 2011 at 3:31 pm

        Great! We’re driving up to Manchester on Easter weekend. We can fight for the other 1.5 hours!

  4. Linda
    March 24, 2011 at 12:16 pm

    We started to watch the show (with William Shatner in) the other day, Lee handed me the remote and said ‘make it go away’

    • March 24, 2011 at 6:00 pm

      I know – the show holds no similarities to the book and Twitter at all 😦

  1. No trackbacks yet.

I love comments and will generally answer any that are left - so please do leave one!

