Home > Films > black swan

black swan

Natalie Portman in Black Swan

I saw Black Swan last night, and I really have no idea what to make of it.

That’s not to say that I didn’t enjoy it, because I did – I thought it was beautifully shot, highly original, and that Natalie Portman especially was absolutely outstanding!  She must have trained so hard for the part – and it really does show the lengths that ballerinas have to go through to actually make it.

I even managed to watch something with Mila Kunis in without thinking “MEG!!” all the way through.  And Vincent Cassel was his usual fantastic self, even though his character wasn’t really on screen that much.

However, I was confused as to what actually happened. I have some theories of my own, but unfortunately I saw it on my own, so I didn’t have anyone to discuss it with when I came out.

**SPOILER ALERT**SPOILER ALERT**

Highlight the white text below to see my question – don’t do it if you don’t want a possible spoiler!

So, did Lily (Mila Kunis) even exist?  Or was she a portrayal of Nina’s inner dark side?  Or was I trying to read too much into it?

  1. March 4, 2011 at 9:31 pm

    Lily did exist but what is in doubt is what, if anything, she did. Is that cryptic enough to make sense but not give the game away?

    There’s not much with Natalie Portman appearing in it that I wouldn’t watch but even as unbiased as I am I have to say she was ama-zing! like OMGZ AMA-ZING! not like yeah it wasn’t bad.

    Just sad the Black Swan is where Natalie met the guy that should have been me :/

    • March 4, 2011 at 9:56 pm

      she was definitely amazing 🙂

      Are you SURE that Lily existed, and wasn’t just Nina’s portrayal of her inner feelings then? The bit that got me was when Lily was shagging Vincent Cassel’s character…I was wondering whether that was really Nina letting herself go.

      And who did she meet then?

  2. March 5, 2011 at 10:27 am

    Yes, Lily existed, she was Nina’s understudy. It was her paranoia that led her to thinking Lily was trying to edge her out as lead dancer. She knew of Thomas’s reputation for shagging the dancers for parts and was convinced Lily was willing to do so for hers (Nina’s).

    Natalie fell in lurve with Benjamin Millepied a French dude who was the choreographer on the Black Swan, he left his live-in-girlfriend for the relationship breaking Miss Portman…that brazen hussy just sexier and sexier!

    • March 6, 2011 at 8:40 pm

      Ha! I’ve just read something about her being prgenant – i guess you really have missed your chance 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

I love comments and will generally answer any that are left - so please do leave one!

