Home > Background Blah, London > reasons to be cheerful – part 10

reasons to be cheerful – part 10

Essensuals in Camden

OK – so this is the last one (for now!).

Good customer service.

I mentioned before about the fantastic customer service I think I got from Amazon, when replacing my slightly damaged Kindle.

Well, last night, I went to get my hair cut.  This may not seem like a big deal to most people, but it really is a big deal to me.

I last got my hair cut about 16 months ago.  yes, really.  and it was about the same length of time before that.  There are many things I hate about going to the hairdressers.  (a) People touching me  (b) Not knowing where to look  (c)  Hairdressers that don’t talk to you, that makes you feel uncomfortable  (d)  Hairdressers that talk to you a lot, and ask you loads of questions.

I also have extremely wild hair that refuses to do what it is told.  This has been aggravated over recent years, because I have hypothyroidism, and a trait of that (because, yes, I do still forget to take my pills half the time) is the fact that my hair is thinning on top.  I always have to explain this to them, because it does make a lot of difference as to how they view my hair.

So, I popped along to Essensuals in Camden (they’re a Toni & Guy run branch now) and was dreading it as I usually do.  However, even from the moment I walked in, the girls seemed very friendly and relaxed.  The stylist I had (Aaron) is VERY good with curly hair (and yes, he really was), and he was also just the right blend of smiley and friendly without talking loads – and he really listened to what I told him!

Even better, the girl that washed my hair said to me “So, you’ve not been working today then?” and I told her I had, but I only work in the next road along, and she said “Oh great – so you’ve got your discount then?” which I knew nothing about.  Apparently people who work locally get 15% off! bargain!  And once I’d finished, she had already gone and taken it off of my bill – and let me know that she had!

Now SHE gets my non-existent Customer Service award for February 🙂

  1. Lee
    February 17, 2011 at 3:16 pm

    I can’t believe there has been no mention of nanny goats

    • February 17, 2011 at 3:25 pm

      I haven’t SEEN any nanny goats. And I am NOT a blockhead, if that was what you were inferring!

  2. February 17, 2011 at 6:45 pm

    I still beat your record for not having your hair cut. I had my mane cut two weeks ago but the last time was about May or June 2008 for my friend’s engagement party. I was shaking when I went in but luckily I had two lovely ladies to (almost) hold my hands down as they first washed then detangled it all before we even discussed how much length was to come off.

    I’m so impressed I’m thinking of going back to let them colour it next month.

    • February 17, 2011 at 7:23 pm

      well done you!! Your hair doesn’t SEEM that long though – or do you usually have it tied back? 🙂

      I’m thinking about going back to have mine coloured again too – have to do SOMEthing to hide the greys, even though the lovely Aaron reckoned I didn’t have that many! Bless him.

  3. February 17, 2011 at 8:53 pm

    It was down to my hipbones in ratty tails but I was discarding handfuls of hair everytime I washed it – which was a major undertaking in itself! and it was really starting to look awful. My hair’s bounced right up now to just below my shoulder blades.

    I’m really happy with it now. My hair is thinner on one side than the other so I’m trying to persuade myself to sleep on the other side now before I end up bald on one side.

    • February 17, 2011 at 8:55 pm

      wow! that WAS long then!

      I only finally went to get mine cut because the ends were still feeling dry even when I was washing it, LOL

  1. No trackbacks yet.

I love comments and will generally answer any that are left - so please do leave one!

