Home > Background Blah, Conversations, family > down to the core

down to the core

Why would anyone want a sculpture of a pear core?

The Girl just ate a rather large and rather juicy pear.  I made her eat it over a bowl, obviously – and good job I did.  Pear juice everywhere.

When she stood up to wash her hands, she said “Awww, look at the little pear corpse” and then disappeared into the bathroom.

When she came out, she picked up the bowl, held it piously and said “Dear little pear, I would like to apologise for your demise to your family and friends. You were very yummy, and I will remember you always.”

I looked at her. “Are you really having a funeral for a pear?”.  She giggled and ran off to the wheelie bin.

When she came back in, she said “The pearuneral has ended, the remains of the pear have been buried deep within the bowels of our bin.”

I worry about her – but she really does have a good vocabulary.

  1. The Very Hungry Bookworm
    February 14, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    Congratulations! I’m passing on the Irresistibly Sweet Blog Award your way!
    http://theveryhungrybookworm.wordpress.com/2011/02/14/the-irresistably-sweet-blog-award/

  2. Emm
    February 17, 2011 at 12:52 pm

    Aaaah, that is really very cute! Just the type of wacky thing I would have done as a child. Or teenager. Or adult, now that I think about it.

    • February 17, 2011 at 1:10 pm

      One of my friends always points out that ‘the apple doesn’t fall very far from the tree’ when I mention how surreal she is 😉

      • Emm
        February 17, 2011 at 4:57 pm

        Ha ha! That is sweet!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

I love comments and will generally answer any that are left - so please do leave one!

