Home > Background Blah, Conversations, family > but think of my grandchildren!

but think of my grandchildren!

She doesn't help herself appear intelligent really, does she?

I had so many plans for this weekend, but they were all put paid to by my daughter being a complete argumentative bitch all week.  There was no way that she was going to get any ‘treats’ after her behaviour – and especially not go out today as I was planning.

Unfortunately, punishing her in turn punishes me, as it means that *I* can’t go out and play and enjoy myself as I have to stay in with her.  Boo!

Luckily I’d been out a couple of times during the week, and it had been an extremely mentally-challenging week too, so I haven’t felt TOO hard done by – and The Man said that we can go out next weekend and do what we were planning ourselves while she is spending the weekend with her dad!

Her punishment yesterday wa sto have to completely tidy up her room (something I’ve been shouting about for the past couple of weeks with no actions made apart from hiding all the mess behind a chair).  Her punishment today was to clean the car – but that kind of backfired as she LOVED it!  She felt like she’d been given a special treat or something.

Anyway, at one stage today, she came in to me, looking extremely serious and said “Mum, are you busy?”.  “No, why?”.  And then she whipped one of her shoes out from behind her back and shouted “Because me and my shoe are going to get married, and I wondered if you wanted to be a bridesmaid!”

I just sat there and stared at her, gobsmacked.

“What? What’s the matter?  Mum? Mum, why aren’t you saying anything? Mum!!”

And THEN she really made me laugh.  “Oh you’ve got no soul!”….short pause…”Unlike my shoe, of course!”

Should I give up now?

  1. Linda
    January 17, 2011 at 11:06 am

    Have you thought about taking her to see some sort of professional?

    • January 17, 2011 at 11:13 am

      Occasionally. which particular sort of professional were you thinking of? 😉

  2. Linda
    January 17, 2011 at 11:31 am

    Christ, anyone that will see her 😉

    • January 17, 2011 at 1:29 pm

      I think it may be easy to get someone to see her…but only the once!

  3. Linda
    January 17, 2011 at 6:42 pm

    Try someone with a thesis to write, they may want to study her.

    • January 17, 2011 at 6:45 pm

      will they want to cut her open? i’m a little scared what might be inside…

  4. Linda
    January 18, 2011 at 10:09 am

    Just a small alien in her head controlling her body 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

I love comments and will generally answer any that are left - so please do leave one!

