In the words of Scrooge...

I know that I’m not usually the most Christmassy of people, but I’ve been particularly miserable this year.  The Man managed to bring flu home with him last week, and on Friday last week, The Girl got it, and then on Saturday I did.

Me & The Girl spent the whole weekend in bed, and I was so weak with it all that I was subjected to awful Christmas films as she had control of the remote control, and I didn’t have the energy to do anything about it!

There is only so much Doris Roberts a girl can watch – surely.  i know that I have certainly had my fill for the rest of my life.  I was also conned into watching Aquamarine, which was like a modern day girlie version of Splash meets The Little Mermaid.

By Tuesday, The Man went back to work and The Girl was feeling a lot better.  As for me, I was having difficulty breathing amongst other things.  I first got asthma about 6 years ago all of a sudden, and have therefore apparently been entitled to a flu jab.  The doctor’s surgery keeps ringing me to tell me to go down and have it, which I have always refused.  but then again, I don’t think I’ve had ‘proper flu’ for about 10 years!  i’ve had colds and everything, but not flu.

It’s been so crap that The Man was even threatening to take me to A&E (which I wasn’t having!) and my mum had even got to the point where she said “Don’t worry if you wont make it on Christmas Day”.

How depressing.

On Wednesday evening, I realied I had a last chance to get some presents that I needed, and so got on a bus and went shopping.  For about half an hour.  That was way more than I could really cope with, and as I was waiting for the bus to come home, I coughed so much that I had to be sick into a bin.  Which was classy.  Luckily, I think all the other people waiting for the bus probably thought I was just a pisshead.

Anyway, apart from the coughing, and feeling extremely tired, I’m feeling a bit better today, and I DID make it to my mum’s yesterday – and Christmas Day was actually very nice.

Because of The Man’s long-term unemployment which came to an end in July, this has been the first Christmas in about 4 that we have been able to buy decent presents as a family.  it took us ages to open them all on Christmas morning, which was lovely.

I just felt bad for the rest of my family, as I hadn’t had a chance to buy all those extra little pressies that I usually get – and my poor mum, I hadn’t managed to get her anything at all (even though I’d spent hours before I was ill trying to find the perfect scarf for her to match her new handbag).  Luckily, I had a stroke of genius half an hour before we left and wrote out a note card to her saying that i would take a day off work in the next couple of weeks, take her to Oxford St to find the right scarf, and then take her for afternoon tea somewhere posh.

She was very very happy 🙂  Which made me very happy.

All in all, apart from illness, life is great.

