Home > Book Reviews, Books > black magic sanction – kim harrison

black magic sanction – kim harrison

Black Magic Sanction

I’d like to start by saying that I’m not really that into the vampire/werewolf genre really – I haven’t read any of the Twilight series for example.

However, a few years ago, when I went to Portugal to see my dad, I took a couple of books out of the library, and one of them was Dead Witch Walking, the first in Kim Harrison’s ‘Rachel Morgan’ series.  I fell in love with it.  I loved the humour, the action, the characters…it all just worked for me.  It doesn’t take itself seriously and is fun and sexy.  Great escapism!

So, it is set in Cincinatti in the not too distant future in a world 40 years after ‘The Turn’ – an event that threatened to wipe out the human race and so the ‘underground races’ exposed themselves in order to save as many of us as they could.  this included witches, vampires, pixies, fairies, demons, gargoyles, werewolves, banshees, etc etc etc.

Rachel Morgan is a witch.  She lives in a converted church with Ivy (a sultry living vampire who she’s had on/off flirtations and near-misses with) and Jenks (a pixy) and his rather large family.  The three of them own their own private detective business and Rachel has been learning more about her beginnings, and even how witches and their abilities originated.

I wouldn’t want to spoil the series for anyone, because it IS a really good series and this is number 8, so I can’t go too much into the story without giving away the books before.

I was worried that Rachel’s story, bad luck in love, wranglings with Al the demon and her efforts to live with Ivy without her ‘vamping out’ on her would be wearing thin by now, but it hadn’t.  I got back into the whole thing far easier than I would like to admit really.

Mythical trash-lit at its best!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

I love comments and will generally answer any that are left - so please do leave one!

