Home > Background Blah, family, Music > all is calm

all is calm

Only slight surface ripples...

Considering the last entry I made about The Girl, the transformation of the past couple of weeks has been absolutely amazing.

I even got home tonight to a chirpy little “I’ve hoovered the lounge for you, mum!”

I have absolutely no idea what has changed – I’m not sure if it’s just hormones, or whether it’s the fact that during half term, we had an absolutely huge row where she was being completely impossible, and I threatened to send her to a children’s home.

No, I’m not proud of it.  No, I wasn’t even joking at the time.  No, I don’t think I’m the only parent to have come out with something so shitty to their own child.

It had a very immediate effect though.  Nothing else for weeks had been getting through to her, and I was literally at the end of my tether – I was totally flabberghasted by her behaviour and attitude.  I’d tried calm, I’d tried ignoring, I’d tried shouting, I’d tried everything.

That one sentence finally broke her though – she finally cried and seemed bothered by it – and that gave me a chance to explain to her how she was making me feel.  She told me she didn’t want to live with anyone else, and that she loved me so much.

And that, as they say, has been that.  Life has settled down.  All has been good.  All has been calm.  Rooms have been kept tidy, homework has been done, clothes have been hung up.  Pocket money has been earned.

And on Monday night, I had an absolutely amazing night’s sleep.  Me!!  Ms Insomnia extraordinaire!!!  Just the second night of decent sleep since July.  And unlike last time, I felt wonderful when I woke up Tuesday morning!  Last night was back to normal though, and I spent all day today feeling like crap 😀

But hey – life is GOOD!!!  I have my daughter back (for now), we aren’t on the poverty line, I’ve got great friends – old and new,  I’m loved beyond belief AND I got tickets to see Pulp at Wireless in July!  Hurrah!!

  1. teadevotee
    November 10, 2010 at 7:27 pm

    Oh good – so glad things are getting better again. Kids!

    • November 10, 2010 at 8:14 pm

      Me too! Not a moment too soon either, or social services would’ve had to come take her away 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

I love comments and will generally answer any that are left - so please do leave one!

