Home > Films, foreign film, Review > the girl with the dragon tattoo – sweden (2009)

the girl with the dragon tattoo – sweden (2009)

The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo

I was a bit wary of watching this film at first because I had enjoyed the book so much (as per my review) and we all know how disappointing adaptations can be.  However, I’d heard good things, and at least it was a Swedish film, so I gave it a go a few weeks ago (yes, and have only just got around to reviewing it!)

I must admit, it makes a pretty good film.  the girl playing Salander is very believable and grungy (which is twice as amazing when you see how gorgeous the actress usually looks), and Blomkvist feels right too.

However, I watched it with The Man and I found that I was having to explain quite a few bits to him that I only knew from reading the book.  The film felt slightly shallow.  I was quite shocked that Erika Berger was shown in the film, and yet not even named, and the relationship between her and Blomkvist went completely unexplained.

Saying that, The Man didn’t feel cheated of any story, and has said that he’ll probably read the books now.

It’s a great story, and it’s a good film.  I will definitely watch the other two.  However, it wasn’t a patch on the book – so probably best to watch BEFORE reading it!  I’d be very interested to know if anyone else felt that some of the vital elements of the plot were missing, or glossed over.

My rating 8/10

  1. November 5, 2010 at 6:00 pm

    This version of the Girl With the Dragon Tattoo is perfectly acceptable. All movies based on books have to compromise, and I think that Niels Arden Oplev made perfectly acceptable compromises without losing the essense of the story. This continues in the Girl Who Played With Fire, but it will be very interesting to see how he handles the Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest. These movies (so far) stand alone quite well as a fair visual representation of the books. I have little hope that the American versions will do as well.

  1. November 5, 2010 at 2:57 pm

I love comments and will generally answer any that are left - so please do leave one!

