Home > Books, walthamstow > book group whore

book group whore

Typical book group? There's no beardy-weirdies at the library one!

I’m feeling slightly slutty.

Tonight, I will be seeing another Book Club for the first time – behind my Reading Group’s back.

I am a little nervous, as this is ‘stranger danger’ as I will be meeting new people, and although according to Twitalyzer I am a ‘Social Butterfly’, meeting new people does always give me a case of the bowel cramps, so to speak.

I am really enjoying being part of the Walthamstow Library Reading Group – and I went along to our meeting on Tuesday and we had a brilliant discussion about That Old Ace In The Hole and I picked up my copy of our next book, which is Fasting, Feasting by Anita Desai (which I had never heard of).

However, before I had gone along to my first Reading Group meeting, I had in fact contacted someone from a group that meet at The Nags head in Walthamstow Village – but they break for the summer, and tonight was the first meeting they have had since.

So, I have convinced my friend to come along with me, and we have both read the book (luckily it was a very thin book – but also a very weird one…Andrew Kaufman’s ‘All My Friends Are Superheroes’ – I will review it later).  I am just crossing my fingers that a) other people actually turn up and b) that they’re lovely.

Is it wrong to belong to two groups?

  1. Lee
    October 28, 2010 at 4:28 pm

    Tart!

  2. October 28, 2010 at 4:41 pm

    Nothing wrong with belonging to two group — provided one doesn’t find out about they other! 🙂

    I’d love to join a book group in my area — sadly, nothing really blows my skirt up here in North Florida.

  3. Lena
    October 28, 2010 at 6:24 pm

    not at all and even if they do know – as long as you can keep up with both 😉 Got fasting and feasting on my shelf, would be gd to know if any good cos Im lazy like that, pmsl.

    • October 28, 2010 at 10:34 pm

      That’s just cheating! But obviously you’ll see my review once I read it 🙂

  4. October 30, 2010 at 10:31 am

    This is what puts me off book groups, having to read something I’m not remotely interested in…do they look down on you because you have a Kindle? :p

    • October 30, 2010 at 10:35 am

      Oh no, not at all! In fact, I got my Kindle out on Wednesday night, and they were all having a go, and all of them were tempted to get one 🙂

  5. Luc
    April 24, 2012 at 8:28 am

    Hi! Do you have any contact details for the nags head book group? If so could you please email me them as I would love to join. Thanks! X

    • April 24, 2012 at 9:46 am

      Hi Luc – unfortunately, at the moment we are full in the Nags Head book group. As you can imagine, if you go over a certain number of members, it becomes almost impossible to have aproper discussion (we once had 14 people turn up and it was a nightmare!).

      If you email me your contact details to eastendlass@hotmail.co.uk, i will contact you if we get a space come up!

      However, there are also book groups that meet at Peking Chef, the library, the Mill and even a book-crossing group that I think meet at The Nag’s head too.

      i am also planning to start a ‘different’ kind of book club, where you don’t have to all read the same book, but come and talk about the books that you have read within the month. I have been threatening this since december, but am determined to knuckle down and do it very soon!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

I love comments and will generally answer any that are left - so please do leave one!

