Home > Book Reviews, London > sixty-one nails – mike shevdon

sixty-one nails – mike shevdon

Sixty-one Nails

I’m not sure how I came about this book – I think I remember seeing a tweet about it somewhere…but don’t hold me to that.

The marketing splurge of it being ‘Neverwhere for the next generation’ really drew me in, as I absolutely adore Neverwhere.

I can see what the connection was – it has the whole ‘alternative London’ going on that straddles this world with another secret one inhabited by the faeries or Fey, but at the same time it’s nothing like Neverwhere at all!

It starts when a very normal Londoner is going about his very normal life and suddenly has a heart attack on the Tube.  He is revived by a woman who allows him to call her ‘Blackbird’ – and tells him that he has ‘come into his powers’ and is no longer safe.

I loved this book.  I loved the tiny glimpses of London.  I love the way that the author took real, slightly odd London rituals/happenings and built up a fantastical reason for them occurring.

At first, I felt that the story was rather convaluted and wasn’t ready to buy into it, but without me realising, I had suddenly really bought into it, quite early on and just eagerly looking forward to finding out what happens next.  I know that this is meant to be one of a set (not sure how many yet) and I will definitely be reading the next one after I have read my next book club books.

I love comments and will generally answer any that are left - so please do leave one!

