Home > Food, London, Review > le bouchon breton, old spitalfields market

le bouchon breton, old spitalfields market

 

Didn't take any pics apart from this rubbish one of my gorgeous lamb!

 

Being a happy TopTable member, I was lucky enough to have saved up 6,000 points since my last free meal (at Baumann’s Braserrie, Coggeshall) and so I booked for me and The Man to go along to Le Bouchon Breton in Old Spitalfields market last night.

Two courses each from near enough the whole menu (apart from the large sharing platters) – which gave us a huge choice…far more than I was expecting.

The thing I love about getting a free meal is that I am happy to pay for some decent drinks at the same time, as it doesn’t feel quite so extravagant.  So I treated myself to a couple of Cosmos…well…perhaps ‘a few’.  Does three count as ‘a few’?

The whole menu sounded gorgeous, but the highlights for us were the foie gras, gesier and smoked magret salad starter (very decadent) and my gorgeous french trimmed rack of lamb – the meat was just so lamby and tender and gorgeous, the spinach buttery and flavourful and my darphin potatoes were gorgeous!

I had thought before we went that the portion sizes may be quite small, being a French restaurant – but we were surprised by just how much we got on our plate.  The starters were large, and the amount of meat on my lamb was amazing – and the steak was a very decent portion (and beautifully cooked to The Man’s preferred rare)…we had ordered a side of veg, but we really didn’t need it.

In fact, the only disappointment of the evening was that I didn’t have room to order anything from their gorgeous-sounding Dessert Menu.  The dishes that we saw brought out looked gorgeous too!

The service was very professional and not intrusive at all – it was the kind of place you would take your parents to impress them!  (Or maybe your in-laws).  Gorgeous food, lovely surroundings, plenty of places to have a drink before/after – and if you have the points with TopTable, I strongly recommend you spend them there!

I love comments and will generally answer any that are left - so please do leave one!

