Home > family, walthamstow > waving goodbye

waving goodbye

So sad to see her go!

The Girl started ‘big school’ yesterday?

She was SO excited, it was unbelievable.  Considering all the crap that she’d had with that bitchy girl in her class over the past 3 years – and the fact that we found out just before the summer holidays started that ‘she’ (her arch-nemesis as The Girl calls her) was going to the same school, I’m surprised that her enthusiasm has been so high!

But she’s very dificult to wear down – which is a good thing of course 🙂

So, yesterday was Day 1 of high school (secondary school if Lee’s reading).  Although it was only actually 2 hours – 1.20 to 3.30.  But she was determined to walk to school by herself (her friend round the corner was getting a lift – which I find quite pointless) and so I literally had to wave her off from the gate and watch her go – so tiny and helpless – hence my poignant photo, LOL (I then went inside and had a few tears to myself while noone was looking).

She went off again this morning – after getting changed really quickly so that The Man could see her in her uniform.  Yesterday was just Year 7 and all getting to know her form class and form tutor and getting her lanyard and planner (which are the 2 most important things in her school) and getting her photo taken.

Today, the rest of the school are there and she’ll need to get to know her way around, find out her timetable and charge her lunch card up with money and get used to the hustle of the dining hall.

I’ve even had to get her own door keys cut!

All bloody scary staff if you ask me.  Which she did.  She asked how I felt when I went to high school, and to be honest, I can’t even remember.  I know that I didn’t know hardly any of my new classmates – I think there was just one who had been in my primary school.  My school was roughly the same size as hers is – but hers is all girls.  Still not sure if that’s a good or bad thing, LOL

  1. Lee
    September 3, 2010 at 11:24 am

    What is a lanyard and how did I manage to get all the way through secondary school without one?

    • September 3, 2010 at 11:28 am

      A lanyard is one of those things you wear round your neck for your ID cards etc. She has her ID card (temp one just now) that will have her photo on, and also acts as her canteen cash card. She also has her ‘Conduct Card’ on it – which gets written on by teachers if she’s done anything wrong.

      If she forgets her lanyard, she gets an automatoc hour’s detention!

      I never had one either – but we didn’t go into school in the era of over-played H&S

  2. September 4, 2010 at 10:22 am

    Hey you! I remember us two being a bit wide-eyed on the first day, ha! xx

    • September 4, 2010 at 10:42 am

      Hi stranger – how did you find me? 🙂

      There is only one thing I can remember about my first day, and that was a girl from my horse-riding lessons asking me to look after another girl who was in our class 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

I love comments and will generally answer any that are left - so please do leave one!

