Home > Books, London, walthamstow > talking in the library

talking in the library

This just amused me when I was looking for a pic 😉

Seems wrong, doesn’t it –  having a discussion in a library?  But that is what I did last night.

OK, all is not quite as it seems – I decided to go and see whether the Reading Group at Walthamstow Central Library was something I might find interesting.

They meet at 7pm on the last Tuesday of every month, and it appears I went on a night when they had the least number of people turning up ever (probably the summer holidays – everywhere seems to be a bit sparse at the moment).

It’s quite good as they provide the library with the name of the next book they want to read, and the library provide enough copies for everyone, and then they hand it back at the next meeting, and pick up the next lot.

They had just finished reading The Time Traveller’s Wife, which I had read and enjoyed – but when it first came out, so I could barely remember any details at all.  It was really interesting to be able to discuss everyone’s different takes on the book – and especially one person who didn’t like it at all and hadn’t finished reading it – but then she had already decided how it was going to end…and it doesn’t.  After listening to the rest of us discussing, she realised that she might find it interesting after all, LOL.

So, I came home with my copy of Ben Okri’s The Famished Road, which I have to be honest, I had never heard of, but am looking forward to reading.

Just thinking about going again in a few weeks though has made me realise that I am going to tackle the book differently.  Knowing that I am going to be discussing it makes me think I should take notes etc – which seems a bit ‘bookish’ to me, and something I haven’t done since school – which was a LONG time ago!

There’s a Walthamstow Book Club that I am also interested in going along to – but I don’t know when they are next meeting.  Is two book clubs just greedy??

  1. Paul McGrane
    September 13, 2010 at 5:31 pm

    Hi, come along to the poetry reading at the Central Library Reference Room, 1st floor – on Wednesday 15th September 7.30pm – doors open 7pm. £3 – includes a glass of wine. Pascale Petit, Jacqueline Gabbitas and Meryl Pugh – all local and renowned poets. Pascale will be reading from her latest book – based on the life of painter Frida Kahlo – the paintings will be projected on the beautiful library walls.

    Paul

    • September 13, 2010 at 7:22 pm

      Thanks for letting me know – I was just saying that I get the flat to myself on Wednesday – I’ll need to see how I feel 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

I love comments and will generally answer any that are left - so please do leave one!

