Tell No One

I watched this French thriller last weekend, and was really drawn in.

It seems a lot more ‘glossy’ than many French films that I have seen – a bit Hollywood in its execution and production, but the story was intriguing to say the least, and I am now plannign to read the book by Harlan Corben that it is based on.

Alex and his wife Margot are having a romantic night by the lake when she is suddenly attacked, he is knocked unconscious trying to save her, and when he comes round a few days later in hospital, he learns that she was horrifically and brutally murdered.

Eight years later, he receives an email containing CCTV footage of a woman who bears an uncanny resemblence to her, together with the message to ‘Tell noone’.

I personally didn’t guess the real story behind it all, but I’m not sure that’s because I wasn’t paying close enough attention, but that there was no way of guessing.  I don’t think there are clues throughout the film, and so it’s not altogether clever – just something to sit back, enjoy and be entertained by.

Oh yeah, and Kristin Scott-Thomas comes across far better in french than she tends to in English.

My rating – 7/10

