Wheeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!

On Monday, The Girl was eleven years old.  Eleven!!  That makes me like, ooo, at least 27.  Ahem.

She’d been away with her grandparents for a couple of weeks, and when I spoke to her, I gave her a great long list of things that we could do for her birthday, and what did she choose?  A trip with me to Southend.

I know my daughter, and I think that she could have been swayed as it was the only option where I actually specified food (“…we can eat fish & chips by the seafront and overdose on doughnuts…”) – there would’ve been food involved in the other options, but it was non-specified food!

As she starts high school in a couple of weeks, I did also make the point that this is likely to be the last time for 10 years where she wont be too cool to hang out with me.  She didn’t agree, and said that she’d always want to hang out with me as I’m her favouritest person in the world.  I warned her that her feelings would soon change, LOL.

Happy Birthday Girl

So, off we went, armed with the contents of my ‘change jar’ to spend in the arcades.  after stopping to see my parents, we got there about 1pm.

They had threatened rain on all the weather forecasts for a week, and I was shocked when the day actually turned out to be lovely – sunny, warm but not too hot.  Perfect for a non-beach seaside day.

We had a great time, spent hours on the 2p machines, eating fish & chips, ice-creams, doughnuts, going on all the rides.  She made a couple of friends and proceeded to run around Adventure Island with them going on all of the roller-coasters about 3 times in a row.

We got home at just gone 9pm, thoroughly happy and exhausted.

Eleven!!!

On Tuesday, I had to take her to the hospital to have her arm checked out.  I can’t fault Whipps Cross, never have been able to.  her appointment was 9.30am – we got there at 9.20, got the card to go over to x-ray, went across, get her x-rayed, came back, saw the consultant, got discharged and were out by 9.40!!

The consultant was actually really surprised, as it’s only 2 months since she broke her wrist and the bone has completely healed.  It’s still slightly bent, but that might correct itself in the next couple of years, it may never correct, but it doesn’t hinder her movements at all, and isn’t really noticeable.

We think that it might have healed quicker because of her boxing – that the bones may have strengthened.  She can’t do contact in boxing with that arm or any push-ups still for a month, just to give it a fighting chance, but then she’ll be fully fit and back on it.

So pleased 🙂

