Simple, stylish but comfortable

I forgot to mention that i took my mate out for a belated birthday meal last week.

She fancied Moroccan(ish) and so I booked a Turkish-Cypriot place near Liverpool Street called Kazan (City), which I had always fancied the look of but never visited.

I was lucky that Toptable have an offer of 50% off of food, so we had more to spend on drink!

It was a lovely atmosphere and it was really really busy, considering it was a Wednesday night.  It was buzzing but not too loud.  The waiting staff were attentive but not over-bearing.

To start we had dolmades, which were cooked to perfection and had a wonderful cinnamon taste to them – and we also had Icli Kofte, which are deep fried shells of bulgur filled with minced lamb and pine nuts.  they were gorgeous, crisp on the outside and with a punchy flavourful filling.

For mains, I had the flame grilled poussin with rice and salad and my mate had the Kazan Special, which is a taster of all the ‘main’ kebabs.  We both gulped the whole lot down – it was all moist, tender, full of flavour and we were both too full to have desserts – which was a shame, as I really fancied the sound of the baklava served with rose ice cream.

We thoroughly recommend their cocktails too – we had the gorgeous Arabian Kiss, which is rose petal liqueur, splash of lychee juice topped with champagne and the Dusty Emerald which is vodka, apple juice, brown sugar and fresh lime and lightly dusted with cinnamon.  The bar area is gorgeous too with big squashy sofas, and the drinks aren’t too bad considering it’s a restaurant and it’s in the City.

I will definitely be going there again!

