Home > Book Reviews > one day – david nicholls

one day – david nicholls

One Day - David Nicholls

I’ve only just finished this book, and feel rather emotionally drained at the moment.

I don’t want to say too much, because I don’t want to give anything away, but I think the way that David Nicholls has put this story together makes you feel really involved with characters Emma & Dexter and their lives over the course of 20 years.

Even though the chapters are designed so that you see a ‘snapshot’ of their lives on one particular day of their lives over the 20 year span (15th July), the chapters are written in a way that makes you feel like you haven’t missed a thing.

And it works – you really buy in to the characters, care about them, want to help them, want to say “You idiot! Don’t do that!!” etc etc.  And you’re rooting for them all the way through the book (even when they ARE doing the stupid things) because you know their history, and know how they’ve got to where they are.

it’s not the best written book that I have read, it certainly isn’t the most imaginative, but it is completely touching, surprising and very emotional.

  1. Lee
    May 31, 2010 at 11:01 am

    Don’t think I could ever feel emotionally involved with a Dexter

    • May 31, 2010 at 11:09 am

      I could – if he was the serial killer from the series – he’s pretty cool.

  2. teadevotee
    May 31, 2010 at 6:19 pm

    I totally agree with your review – felt exactly the same way!

    • May 31, 2010 at 6:42 pm

      I was so pleased I wasn’t at work today, as I simply burst into tears towards the end (you know the bit!) and that would’ve been really embarrassing on the tube!

  3. Stevebob79
    June 9, 2010 at 7:48 pm

    I really got into this book too. Surprisingly engaging.

  4. June 22, 2010 at 7:54 pm

    Hi Sonia

    I stayed up until 2 last night reading this – just like you so engrossed in the characters. But I do think it is very well written as you just don’t notice the structure which is actually relatively complicated (switching between focalised viewpoints, between letter or action etc etc). That is some skill he’s used there.

    I do agree though it may not have been THE most imaginitive in terms of how the story pans out (I did see that particularly sad bit coming but was hoping I was wrong). But the very simple idea at the heart of it (the ‘one day’ thing)is brilliant just by the sheer simplicity of it. It is an idea I sooooo wish I’d had!

    I very, very, very much related to Emma at every stage of her life. It was like reading about myself. But as I said on facebook the book possibly has that impact on everyone, maybe that is the greatest skill he has…

    It is a bit of a classic in a true Victorian style isn’t it? I’m not usually one for a love story but when it is a love story as genuinely moving and gripping as this then…oh okay then!

    Sorry I’ve just taken over your blog with my own review!!
    xx

    • June 22, 2010 at 8:02 pm

      take over as much as you like!! Did you cry? I bawled it, which definitely shows how involved I was in the characters.

      Have you read Starter for 10? I read it a couple of years ago. It’s nothing like One Day apart from focusing on student dreams and aspirations. It was no way as involving, but it was a good fun read 🙂

  1. February 13, 2011 at 12:10 pm
  2. February 21, 2011 at 7:28 pm

I love comments and will generally answer any that are left - so please do leave one!

