Home > London, Londoner > wenlock and mandeville

wenlock and mandeville

The metallic versions

So, the new Olympic 2012 mascots were unveiled yesterday – and there seems to have been uproar over the internet about them.  apparently they’re shit, they’re cheap, they’re tacky, and people are generally hating them.

WTF?  What is wrong with them?  What the hell were people expecting?  they’re mascots – does everyone expect us to have a bloody teddy bear or something?  What are mascots for even that people are getting so riled about.  Name me the mascots from previous Olympics!

Personally, I think that they are pretty cute, and also very accessible for people from all over the world.  I know that the Girl thought that this video introducing them was brilliant.

And if you read a little more about the designs, I think they start to make more sense.

Bless Wenlock & Mandeville – they were never going to please everyone, but I think they’re great!  I especially like the Union Jack skins)

UK skins

  1. Lee
    May 20, 2010 at 10:02 am

    I think they look like cartoon teeth from a public information film about dental hygene 🙂

    • May 20, 2010 at 10:03 am

      LOL – but is that a bad thing? 😉 What about with the Union jack skins?

  2. phil
    May 20, 2010 at 10:15 am

    Thanks for popping by my blog – I think they really do resemble Mr Hankey the Christmas Poo! http://tinyurl.com/2vtxqjt

    • May 20, 2010 at 10:17 am

      howdy-doodey!! 😉 I don’t see it myself…they only have one eye for starters. they DO remind me of something, but it’s one of those things that is just at the back of my head, and hasn’t twigged yet. I’m sure it will at some stage 🙂

  1. July 22, 2010 at 8:48 pm
  2. October 20, 2010 at 10:44 am
  3. January 2, 2011 at 9:57 am
  4. January 2, 2011 at 9:58 am

I love comments and will generally answer any that are left - so please do leave one!

