I certainly was a big brave girl last night!

Last night, I swallowed all my usual ‘stranger danger’ fears and went along to the London Bloggers Meetup.  You may remember that I went along to this in January, but I missed the February one as I couldn’t walk at that time (damned calf muscle!!).  There doesn’t seem to have been one in March.

Anyway, I’d put my name down to go last week, and was having my usual worries about going out and meeting new people, and then yesterday I found out that the only three people I’ve really been in contact with since then weren’t going!  Argh!!

But no, I did not back out!  I was a big brave girl and went along anyway.  And I’m glad that i did, as not only did I get to chat to the lovely Tom again, but I also met some other interesting people, including Asgeir.  this was really good for me, as although a lot of people I know think of me as a total geek, I was well and truly out-geeked by the people there!!  Although I did find myself getting into a dodgy uber-geeky area when I was appalled that not everyone had considered their plan-of-action if they were survivors of the Peak Oil Crisis or a zombie virus.  I had to tell myself to shut up as I’d obviously put FAR too much thought into it!

i also had to find a friend of a friend there, which was really embarrassing – especially as I didn’t know his actual name and couldn’t go up to just anyone and ask if they were his Twitter name (it DOES have ‘Adonis’ in it, so there was good reason!).  I think that situation is just an embarrassment of modern times!

Anyway, we heard a talk about making money from your blog (not something I would ever do) and also about mflow, which is a new product that is kind of like the bastard child of iTunes and Twitter.  It goes live tomorrow, and we had a code last week to download and play with it early, but I must admit, I haven’t had a chance to yet.  It looks like a great idea though.  you can see what your friends are listening to, and share with them what you are listening to, and then if they buy it, you get 20% of the price that they paid!  result!!  I think it will be great to see in action, but hope there’s a decent library.  You will obviously need to have a lot of friends with the same tastes in music to get the most out of it!

So, it was a good night, and I was really glad that I went along 🙂  I’m looking forward to the next one.

