Home > Background Blah, family, Friends, London, Social Networking > who hit me? erm…ouch!!!

who hit me? erm…ouch!!!

I can't even look at this - ewww!!

I am a massive wuss – and this is one of the reasons I never go to the doctors if I can help it.  It makes me feel sick, knowing what my body may or may not be doing!

I am currently stuck indoors, with my leg up in the air, in pretty agonising pain!

Last night, I was at Camden station, and running for the tube as usual (I’m a Londoner – I will always run for the tube rather than wait the whole two minutes for the next one!!) and as I was running down the stairs, there was a woman with a pram (a personal hate of mine – people taking prams/pushchairs/kids in general on tubes during rush hour!).  Anyway, I swerved round this woman and run across the platform.

As I was just about to get on the tube, it felt like someone had hit me in the back of the leg with a very hard rubber ball and there was an odd sensation like a twang…I looked back to see who had thrown something at me, but there was nothing there, and noone behind me, so I thought “That’s odd” and jumped on the tube.

That’s when the pain hit….OMG the pain!!  I thought I was going to be sick, I overheated, started sweating profusely and had to take my coat off.  And I couldn’t put my foot down flat.

When i got off at Euston to change onto the viccy line, I was wondering whether I should go and get a taxi home…but I’m poor and tight, and the thought of going up all the escalators, walking through the station to the taxi rank was making me cry, so I thought the best thing was to get to Walthamstow and get The Man to pick me up from the station.  Which he did.

I was so sick when I got home, and I just couldn’t work out what I’d done.  It hurt so much, and was confusing me.  The Man said maybe I should go to A&E but I did my usual “We’ll see how it is in the morning, it might be better then!”.

I went on Facebook, and moaned, and a friend asked what I’d done and so I described it, 5 minutes later one of my best mates rang up.  She was a nurse for years, and is now a fitness instructor, she said “Did you feel like you’d been hit in the calf with something?”  “YES!”, “Did it then feel like an elastic band twanging?” “YES! How do you know?” “You’ve popped your calf muscle – classic textbook sensations”.

She did then tell me a bit about it, and that I needed to do calf stretches and it would take a few weeks to get better – but i couldn’t even consider stretching it at the time!  And the internally bits, ewww…..sick!!

A little later I googled ‘popped calf muscle’ and this page was the first result back which again described the sensation exactly.  I read a bit of it, but then had to stop – even thinking about it now makes me want to puke!  The only words I remember are keep raised, pop, torn, internal bleeding….yuck.

Luckily I can work from home until middle of next week with no problems, so I can hobble around and make The Man run around after me.  Even though he’s moaning about me ‘doing myself in’ at the moment, LOL.  I want to go to the London Bloggers Meet on Wednesday though, so I’m hoping I’ll be hobbling a bit better by then!

Sympathy…gimme some sympathy!!!

  1. teadevotee
    February 11, 2010 at 11:07 am

    Omg, this makes me feel nauseous just reading it….ewwwwww! poor you. Get well soon!

    • February 11, 2010 at 11:44 am

      Thanks 🙂 (I’m glad I’m not the only one with a weak stomach for these things!)

  2. February 11, 2010 at 2:15 pm

    After 20 years I’m obviously not a propa londoner. I refuse to run for trains and buses, especially as on at least one occasion not running for a bus probably stopped me from being blown up!

    • February 11, 2010 at 2:37 pm

      You can’t be a proper Londoner…you’re foreign 😉 The amount of near bomb-misses I had in the 80s! will never stop me running for the tube though, cos it could always go the other way!

  3. February 11, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    Well I for one hope you miss the London Bloggers meet so there is more chance of me winning the case of beer 😀

    errm and yes get well soon-ish

    • February 11, 2010 at 2:38 pm

      Bloody cheek!! I will make sure I’m better for it on purpose now!

  4. February 11, 2010 at 3:52 pm

    I was reading about it last night and I was wiggling in bed with disgust at reading about internal bleeding and pooling of blood! Thanks a lot!! 😉 I hope it’s only a grade 1 strain and you’re up and feeling better real soon.

  5. Kev
    February 12, 2010 at 12:12 pm

    I had high hopes for this story, especially when I read about running, stairs and pram, but unlucky for me my rapidly emerging mental image of a comedy fall down the stairs never happened.

    Still, that does sound rather nasty.
    You do actually have my sympathy, and as you know what I’m like that means something, usually I just point and laugh.

    ;o)

    • February 12, 2010 at 12:28 pm

      I’m sorry for having disappointed you darlin’ – but your sympathy has actually shocked me 😉 xx

  1. February 14, 2010 at 10:44 am
  2. February 18, 2010 at 5:41 pm

I love comments and will generally answer any that are left - so please do leave one!

