Home > Background Blah, Review, TV > day of the triffids

day of the triffids

Evil Eddie

Eddie in DOTT

Last night I watched both parts of Day of the Triffids on BBC1.

I remember the original series when I was little, the one with the really awful big orange and yellow flowers.  I must have been about 9 or 10 when it was on, and I found it completely terrifying.

My mum and dad used to go to this club (I think it was bowls, cricket, tennis or something – it was definitely based around some kind of sport, but the exact details are a little hazy) and I used to have to go along with them, but i used to have to stay and amuse myself in the bar, which was some kind of odd wooden structure.  Anyway, they had a TV in there, and I remember it must’ve been shown on Thursdays, as it used to be on straight after Top of the Pops.

It’s amazing what parts of your life your memory regurgitates.

Anyway, last night’s triffids were far better than the ones in the early 80s, which is to be expected – and some of the shots actually felt quite atmospheric and a little spooky…but when it comes down to it, it was just large flowers walking around killing people – which, when you think of it like that, is NEVER really going to feel very believable, and hence not really scary.

I also love Eddie Izzard, so i was looking forward to seeing him in it – especially as I recently got to see him in a room of about 100 people for a special showing of his new documentary at the Prince Charles Cinema, and he answered one of my questions afterwards.  i felt all silly girlie when he was talking to me.  it was like your secret crush talking to you when you’re a teenager – I was all cool n the outside, just nodding, and smiling slightly while he was talkign, and inside I was going “Oh…my…GOD!!  it’s Eddie fucking Izzard, and he’s talking to ME!!  look – he’s looking right at me. into MY eyes!!  woohoo!!  it’s Eddie fucking Izzard!!”.

And he was pretty good in Triffids…but i did keep expecting him to break into a James Mason impression, so I kind of spoilt it for myself.

  1. December 30, 2009 at 10:40 am

    I loved this too, Eddie made the show for me he is rather good at playing the bad guy is’nt he?

    I felt the ending was a tad rubbish mind you….

  2. December 30, 2009 at 10:52 am

    Oh he makes an excellent baddie – probably better in Hollywood films where the baddies are always British.

    I always thought the ending was rubbish – I thought it was rubbish when I was 10, but that might just be because I was so terrified that they were unable to get rid of them, and that we’d all have to go and live on the Isle of Wight (where we often went for holidays) and that it would sink under the strain!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

I love comments and will generally answer any that are left - so please do leave one!

