Twitter - it's not just for birds

So I have now been using Twitter since April.  I originally signed up for it to get Tweets from the Treasury during the budget for work (yes, I know that is probably just about the geekiest possible reason to join Twitter).

Anyway – I set up an account for myself, and shortly after, I set up an account for work.  I must admit, I use the work one every day and have found an absolute heap of interesting people, and so much useful information for my job that it has proven completely invaluable!

However, I have always found it really hard to get to grips with on a personal basis.  I don’t see it as an easy way of interacting with my friends – Facebook is FAR more user-friendly for that kind of thing, and I’ve never really been much of a ‘celeb-follower’.  BUT, recently I’ve found a great use for it – getting free stuff!!

I have never been the kind of person who seems to win things a lot, but in the last month, through Twitter, I have managed to get a Cooking Mama 3 DS Case (for my daughter who loves CM, and didn’t know she was getting it for Xmas) – made a great Xmas pressie.  I have also got a cookbook, a keyring, a review copy of a book that isn’t in the shops yet and am waiting for another book to come through.  i’m loving it.

So, to conclude:  Twitter – it’s great for work and free stuff!  🙂

